Fair Food!

Monday, September 21, 2009

Today Kimm and I finally made it to the Big E after a 2 year hiatus 🙂

So of course that meant yummy fair food.  Although I have to say, after being vegetarian for three years, fair food is not as much fun.  I REALLY miss my corn dogs.  And Kimm always loved a steak and cheese or chili fries.  Thankfully we are not so tempted in our daily lives!

So what did we indulge in??

We had to get our fudge.  Every year we get our fudge from the same place–Mount Moosilauke Candies.  I always get penuche (similar to a brown sugar flavor) and Kimm always gets peanut butter.  We didn’t eat any there, but each got 1/2 a pound to savor over the next week as a treat.

Then of course we got our cider donuts and fresh cider.  The donuts are only 50 cents each!  You can’t beat that.  And the flavor is so simple–hints of apple, cinnamon and nutmeg, a cake texture, but still melt in your mouth goodness.

Next was the Kettle Corn!  Freshly popped and seasoned in front of our eyes.  Had just a taste there and brought home a medium sized bag to eat tonight!   I love the combination of salty and sweet.

Two honey sticks made our way into our mouths at some point.  Mmmm.  I love the taste of fresh honey.  We got the wildflower flavor.

Sadly, the booth where I always get a glass of coffee flavored milk was OUT OF that flavor.  I was disappointed.

We had our homemade pierogies.  3/$4.25.  We got two cabbage and a cheese/potato.  I liked the cabbage best.  While we were there we ran into our mortgage loan originator from our bank!  That was so cool and a total surprise to run into her there.  She says that she has worked at the pierogi place for the last seven years.  After working her regular day job.  Wow.  That’s more than I could do!

Next was a plate of curly fries.  At this point it was almost 8 pm and we hadn’t eaten dinner yet so they tasted so good!

And last, but certainly not least, was fried dough.  OMG.  Seriously.  This was so good.  We got half butter and cinnamon sugar and half powdered sugar.  Perfectly light and pillow-y!  The butter and cinnamon sugar side was crisp and crunchy, the powdered sugar half was soft and melty.  Really the perfect ending to our fair food day.

We had a really good time at the Big E, even though EVERY YEAR it is the same ol’, same ol’.  The crowds of people are annoying as usual.  I think I am just more cranky and irritable in my older age 🙂

But we had some finds.  Kimm found this cool little shop that made lights out of old liquor bottles.  It was called Bootlegger: A Shady Business.  She bought a light made from an old Grey Goose Vodka bottle.  It came with a red light and looks so cool when lit up.  It will be the perfect addition to the office when we do it.

And then I spent a pretty penny on some shoe orthotics from a place called Action Orthotics.  They are based out of Las Vegas but have been coming to the Big E for 15 years and have had MANY happy customers.  Basically they take an impression of your foot and see if orthotics would be beneficial for you.  And of course my horrible feet are perfect candidates.  My feet are flat, but not as flat as I thought.  But you could totally see where the bulk of my weight was distributed on my heels, which is not the correct place at all.  Basically the arch of my foot needs to strengthen up.  And hopefully the orthotics I bought will help.  She told me that it should also help my bunion from getting any worse.  Thank goodness since that sucker is sore as all heck.  We shall see.  I have to work myself up to wearing them more and more time each day, starting with about 1/2 hour a day.  I’m very excited to see if they work.  If not, it’s just money.  That’s me trying to think positive 😉

It’s been a long day.  I’m pretty tired, but in a good way.  My four days off went by SO fast, as they always do.  But maybe because I had such a nice time off, and the fact that I only have one day to work, I’m not really dreading going back tomorrow.  I am sort of dreading this weekend…three on, one off, then two on.  I know it will be a lot.  But I’m going to try to keep positive.  For one, I enjoy working the weekends more, because it usually seems more calm.  Plus, working three days in a row generally means by the third day, if I have any of my same patients, I know them pretty well.  I just take it one day at a time.

And lastly, can you believe that Izzy pooped THREE times today!  WHAT THE HECK.  And one time was right in the middle of the road 🙂  That crazy dog.  I guess she doesn’t need anything to help move her bowels 🙂

Night all.  Happy last day of summer.

Published in: on September 21, 2009 at 11:33 pm  Leave a Comment