Best Bean (and Veggie!) Burritos

Friday, August 14, 2009

First of all, let me say that I am enjoying reading all about the Healthy Living Summit from the blogs that I follow–Carrots n’ Cake, Eat Live Run, The Inner Workings of a College Graduate, Hangry Pants, Healthy Tipping Point, and Kath Eats Real Food.  I love that it is in Boston–so near to me 🙂  I wonder how I can never find all these cool places to eat when I go there!  Everyone seems to be having a good time and the food looks fabulous!

That darn on one day/off one day schedule is messing with my sleeping schedule!  Usually I take the first night to “right” my body back to sleeping nights, but this hasn’t been happening the last few days.  So I find that I’m a lot more tired.

When I got up, I did the usual, checking blogs and other computer stuff.  Then I was HUNGRY!  So I made one of our quick and easy go-to meals–burritos.  Today I remembered to take pictures 🙂

Best Bean (and Veggie!) Burritos

Makes two good size burritos!

Ingredients:

1/2 can vegetarian refried beans (I use Old El Paso)

1/2 medium yellow onion, sliced thinly

1/2 green pepper, sliced thinly

approximately 1-2 tablespoons vegetable oil

approximately 1 teaspoon cumin powder

2 large flour tortillas

1 tomato, chopped

Mexican cheese to your liking, we use about 1/4 cup per burrito

Sour cream, approximately 2 tablespoons

To make:

Heat a pan on the stove to high heat.  Add in the oil and then when hot, the onions and green peppers.  Then the cumin.

100_2339

Mix and stir while cooking.  This is basically stir frying these veggies.  You want them to get done, but not extremely soft.  They will still have some bite to them!

100_2340

While the veggies are cooking, heat the beans in a pan on the stove til warm.

These two steps will take probably less than ten minutes.  When everything is done, then assemble the burritos.  First some refried beans slathered on, then the onion/green pepper/cumin mixture.  Then the shredded cheese.  Then the tomatoes.  Then the sour cream.

100_2341

*This makes me salivate just looking at it 🙂

Then fold the burrito.

100_2342

It doesn’t look as nice all folded up, but all the good stuff is still inside!

Tonight I made some guacamole as well and we had that on the burrito too. Yummy!

100_2343

Really this is such a simple, satisfying meal.  We love it.  And the best part is that the house will smell wonderful all night long from the smell of the onions and peppers frying!

Tonight we did our trip to BJs for bulk items.  Not too bad.  Approximately $106.  And $68 was food stuff.  So now our total for food for the month is about $180.  And we are halfway through the month.  We’ll see if we can make our $300 goal!

Good news too…all of Madeline’s bloodwork came back fine.  So that is good in that nothing is showing in the bloodwork (no high white blood cell count meaning no infection, no high glucose level meaning no diabetes, the liver function profile is okay which means it is probably not hyperthyroidism as the vet said that would be affected if that was the case).  But still frustrating since we don’t know why she is throwing up.  We started her on the antibiotics tonight and we shall see if that makes a difference.  And next time we go to the store we will start her on canned food.

Ugghh I have to work four extra hours tomorrow.  I volunteered for someone who needed the time covered for a vacation.  But now I am regretting it!  I didn’t know at that time that my weekends would switch.  I feel like I haven’t had more than one day off in a row for a LONG time.

I foresee popcorn in my future!

Published in: on August 15, 2009 at 12:13 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/08/15/best-bean-and-veggie-burritos/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

