Alfredo Vegetable Lasagna

Monday, August 24, 2009

Today I made a more complex meal than I normally do–Lasagna!

I LOVE lasagna.

When I gave up eating meat, I thought that I would have to give up eating one of my favorite dishes.   But fortunately, I found a veggie lasagna in Betty Crocker’s Easy Everyday Vegetarian cookbook that I have since adapted to my own liking.  I was making this because Kimm and I were going to have a friend over for dinner that we haven’t seen in a while.  At the last minute she cancelled, so we had our own little special meal by ourselves.   Kimm raved over this dish tonight and so I knew I had to include it in my “recipe” section.  I hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

Alfredo Vegetable Lasagna

Serves 8

Ingredients:

12 lasagna noodles

6 cups frozen broccoli florets, cooked

1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes (I use the ones that have the basil, oregano, and garlic flavoring), drained

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 red bell pepper, diced

1 container (15 oz) ricotta cheese

1 egg

1 jar (15 oz) Alfredo sauce (I use the Classico brand)

2 cups shredded Mozzarella cheese

To make:

First cook your lasagna noodles in a large pot of salted, boiling water.  I break mine in half to make them easier to work with.   Total cooking time for the noodles is about 14 minutes.  Drain the noodles and place to the side.

While the noodles are cooking, get your veggies ready.  Dice the two peppers.  Drain the diced tomatoes.  Cook the broccoli and then chop into smaller florets.  Then mix all the veggies together.

In a small bowl, mix the egg and ricotta cheese.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees while you layer the lasagna.

The layering is fun in my opinion 🙂  In a 9 x 13 inch glass pan first place a bit of the Alfredo sauce.  Then place 6 of the 1/2 noodles to cover the base of the pan.  Then spread with 1/3 of the ricotta cheese mixture.  Then 1/3 of the veggie mixture.  Then 1/3 of the remaining Alfredo sauce.  Then 1/2 cup of the mozzarella cheese.

Then repeat layers:

–6 of the 1/2 noodles

–1/2 of the remaining ricotta cheese mixture

–1/2 of the remaining veggie mixture

–1/3 of the remaining Alfredo sauce

–1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese

Repeat again…

6 more noodles, the rest of the ricotta cheese mixture, the rest of the veggie mixture, 1/2 of the remaining Alfredo sauce, and 1/2 cup of the mozzarella cheese.

Now the last layer–the last 6 noodles, the remaining Alfredo sauce, and the last 1/2 cup of the mozzarella cheese.

Now place in the oven for 45-60 minutes, until the cheese on top is brown and bubbly.  It usually takes only 45 minutes for me.

Remove from oven and let “REST” for 15 minutes so all the layers set.  Then cut and serve.

100_2423

Fresh out of the oven!

100_2425

Tonight we had ours with some homemade garlic bread…yummm.

We even had strawberry shortcake for dessert!

Usually I don’t have this meal too much in the summer because I don’t want to run the oven for an hour.  But it was SO worth it.  Totally delicious. And I’m psyched that we have leftovers.

I don’t know what it is but I’m completely exhausted tonight.  I took a little nap before writing this post.  And I may take another one before bed!

Kimm has jury duty tomorrow.  I wonder what time she will return home at.  Every time I have ever had jury duty, I was sent home by noon time.

Summer is slowly coming to an end.  It was pitch dark out by 8 pm tonight 😦

In other news, Madeline found a little bag in the basement that was holding some of her extra toys and managed to empty it and roll around in all the toys…she was having fun!

100_2415

“I’m not guilty”

Published in: on August 24, 2009 at 10:26 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/08/24/alfredo-vegetable-lasagna/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Alfredo Vegetable Lasagna […]


Leave a Reply

