Week 1: Creamy Tortellini Casserole

Thursday, January 7, 2010

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I love food and I love to cook and I love to try new recipes.  It’s fun 🙂

Yet, like most people, our meals rotate around a few chosen favorites–those that we know we love and that are generally quick and easy to prepare.

New Year’s Resolution #6–Prepare one new meal per week this year. Kimm guaranteed to me that she would help me find new recipes to try.  I’m excited.

So today was the first recipe, and here I am, doing things last minute as usual (it is the 7th!).  Kimm found this recipe for Creamy Tortellini Casserole while thumbing through our good ol’ standby, Betty Crocker Easy Everyday Vegetarian.   I have to say I was a bit hesitant…I’m not a HUGE fan of tortellini.  But the rest of the ingredients sounded yummy, so we gave it a try (even after having a frustrating, non-successful trip to the DMV to try to renew my driver’s license…let’s just say that tomorrow I will be trying a different branch, much earlier in the morning).  On to the recipe…

Creamy Tortellini Casserole

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup shredded carrots–I simply thinly sliced 1 large carrot, very thinly (didn’t want to dirty the grater!)

1 medium onion, chopped–I used a large onion–I love onions!

8 oz fresh mushrooms, sliced

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups milk (I used whole because that’s all we use)

1 cup shredded Gouda cheese (what?!)–I used mozzarella

3/4 cup frozen sweet peas, thawed–or cooked, in my case

1 package (9 oz) refrigerated cheese-filled tortellini–I used I believe a 13 oz frozen package, cooked

1/2 cup finely crushed buttery crackers, i.e. RITZ–I used half a sleeve, no other measurement

To make:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.   Spray 2 quart casserole with cooking spray.  Boil water for the tortellini and the peas.  In the meantime, prepare the carrots, onion, and mushrooms.  Then, in a 3 quart saucepan, melt butter over medium heat.  Add carrots, onion, and mushrooms; cook about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally until mushrooms are tender.

Stir in flour and salt and stir.  Gradually add milk, stirring constantly.  Cook, stirring constantly until mixture is bubbly.  Remove from heat and stir in the cheese, peas, and tortellini.  Spoon into casserole dish and sprinkle with crackers.

Bake uncovered 15 minutes until edges are bubbly.  Let sit for 5 minutes before eating.

Enjoy!

Excuse the bad pictures…I had to use flash because all of my non-flash pictures were turning yellow…arghh…

Rating: ***** (FIVE stars!!)

We both LOVED this dish.  So creamy.  All of the vegetables were so good.  The tortellini was soft.  The buttery crumbs were the icing on the cake.  We are DEFINITELY going to add this in to our “go to” meals.   It probably took about 45 minutes from start to finish, but I think after making it a few times, I could get it down to 1/2 hour!

Kimm’s opinion…this is an actual quote…”It was yummy in my tummy!”  The whole time she ate it she was like….yummm.   And she went back for seconds!

The other good thing is that it makes a good size dish–enough for two good-sized helpings for two days.  So that means leftovers tomorrow night!

Published in: on January 8, 2010 at 12:59 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2010/01/08/week-1-creamy-tortellini-casserole/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] I made my first NEW meal of the year…Creamy Tortellini Casserole […]


Leave a Reply

