Caramel Apple Sauce

Sunday, September 20, 2009

I felt like I had a pretty productive day.

Up at 10:30 am, walked Izzy, then back home for coffee 🙂

Lunch was yummy leftover Spanish Rice Bake–DEFINITELY a keeper.  Even better reheated.  With a slice of whole grain toast with a bit of butter.

While Kimm watched the football game, I did some organizing.  An overflowing bin of paperwork is now just a bin full to the top of paperwork that either needs to be filed or thrown away.  Baby steps.

Afternoon walk with Izzy and then a failed trip to Bed Bath and Beyond to get a couch blanket for Izzy to lay on.  They were out–which made me not happy.  But maybe we’ll find something at the Big E tomorrow night.

Delicious dinner of veggie burgers, mashed potatoes and refried beans (me only–I know, I’m strange!).  Very filling which makes me happy.

Called my parents after a shower.

Now just relaxing.  We are going to watch a movie and have some popcorn.  It is so cute–Izzy is actually lying in the door to the computer room tonight, keeping us company.

Now, the caramel apple sauce.

I made this yesterday to top our french toast for lunch.  It utilized an apple that was beyond the point of eating (i.e., NOT crisp at all).  I was so happy to use it up because I hate wasting food.  And this was so delicious, you would NEVER guess that the apple was second rate.

Caramel Apple Sauce

Serves one (generous serving) or two (average servings)

Ingredients:

1 apple (I used Yellow Delicious), peeled and sliced

1/2 tablespoon butter

1 and 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar

To make:

Heat a small frying pan on medium heat.  Add butter and brown sugar, swirl to combine once butter melts.   Add apple slices to pan and stir to coat with butter/sugar mixture.  Cook over medium heat for about 10-15 minutes until apples are soft and mixture caramelizes.  Use as a topping for french toast, or pancakes, or ice cream, or even alone.

100_2570

Published in: on September 20, 2009 at 10:11 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/09/20/caramel-apple-sauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you SO much for you
    comment on my post this weekend! It means so much to me to have other people out there who know what I’m going through. It’s so hard with the budget crunch right now…I want to be a good nurse and do
    everything that I’m supposed to, but we stay even a minute late, we get yelled at by our manager. It’s like being stuck between a rock and a hard place…or whatever the saying is! It’s so overwhelming to fall so far behind and realize that you can’t get caught up, which makes it even worse! Last week I tried to take it one step at a time…think about what I have to do and work my way through them, but then it was so easy to think about EVERYTHING I had to do and think about how I wasn’t going to get out on time and how I was short-changing my patients. Plus families were staring me down! The nurses on my floor are great…they pulled me aside and hugged me and told me it would be okay and that it’s okay to cry…just need to get
    it out! I never thought nursing would be easy, but I never thought it would be this hard! My friends comment on how much money I make, but I definitely don’t think I get paid enough for the stress and
    responsibility that we as nurse have. I’ve only been working for four months, so I’m not sure about switching to another hospital yet…maybe too early? I’ve heard both sides of the story. I think
    all the night spots are taken at my hospital, but I think maybe I could try night shift somewhere else…give me a little more time to think and get down basic skills. Maybe. Not that night shift is a
    cakewalk either!

    What kind of unit do you work on? I gather that you work nights…is that correct? Do you like it? When did you stop feeling like an idiot on a daily basis? (Or maybe that’s just me?? haha). Thank you
    again so much for your comment…it meant a lot to me!

    Your email address didn’t work for some reason…maybe I just typed it in wrong…

  2. […] up as well.  I took four small Jonamac apples that were past their eating fresh prime and made caramel apple sauce.  I put it in the fridge to cool down while we ate dinner.  Then placed a small amount of yogurt […]


Leave a Reply

