Week 7: Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars

Saturday, February 20, 2010

It’s no secret…I really like to watch Ina Garten (aka the Barefoot Contessa) cook.  There’s something about her basic, easy style–simple ingredients with lots of flavor.  And it’s just too sweet that she loves her husband Jeffrey so much…they are so cute.  Whenever I get a chance I try to watch her show on Food Network.

So anyways, we were heading over to a friend’s house last night and I volunteered to make dessert.  Since they have kids I figured this dessert would be perfect.  What kids don’t like peanut butter and jelly?  Not to mention, Kimm LOVES peanut butter.

I have made this once before in the past, but it’s been a long time so I figured I would count it as a new recipe this year, especially since I changed up the type of jelly used.  Before I had used raspberry, this time I used grape.  The nice thing is that you can use whatever you like or have on hand.

I’m linking to the recipe on the Food Network page since it comes directly out of her cookbook.  If you try these, I guarantee you’ll have a dessert you’ll be making lots more in the future.  I’m so glad we have some leftovers!

Ina Garten’s Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars (makes a 9x 13 pan worth–cut them as large or as small as you want)

The only tip I would offer is to cover the bars with tin foil about half way through as sometimes the top can brown faster than the bar cooks.

I can’t wait to have another one of these for lunch!

Thankfully I slept better last night.  But it’s off to work tonight.  Two on, one off, then two on again.  I’ll be glad for my next stretch off.

Published in: on February 20, 2010 at 2:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/week-7-peanut-butter-and-jelly-bars/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

