Lemon Zucchini Bread

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Last week I felt like doing some baking.  But what to make?

Since our garden hadn’t produced any zucchini I had snagged one at work from a co-worker who had an overabundance.  And of course that made me think of making zucchini bread.

When I was growing up my mom always made chocolate chip zucchini bread (which is VERY good), but last year when I was wanting to make some zucchini bread I decided to try out a recipe from my cookbook 1,000 Vegetarian Recipes by Carol Gelles.  This recipe was spectacular!  And so I make it all the time now.  The addition of lemon flavor really is super fresh and delicious.

Lemon Zucchini Bread

Makes 2 8-inch loaves or 4 4-inch mini loaves

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

2 egg whites

2 cups sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice (about the amount you get from one lemon)

1 tablespoon grated lemon rind (I used the zest of one lemon, which was just under 1 tablespoon)

2 cups coarsely shredded zucchini (use a box grater, the large holes, no need to peel the zucchini!)

To make:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray pans with non-stick spray.

In a large bowl, stir together the dry ingredients: both flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

In a medium bowl, beat the egg and egg whites until frothy (confession–I used three whole eggs because I did not want to waste two yolks…and it came out fine).  Then beat in the sugar and oil.  Then beat in the lemon juice.

Stir the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients until just combined.  Stir in the zucchini and lemon rind.

Pour into prepared pans.  Bake 50-60 minutes until wooden tooth pick inserted in center comes out clean.

Cool and then remove from pans.

100_2334

I had mine one day with a perfectly ripe peach.

Today Kimm and I had a little “date” night.  We went up to Northampton to see Food Inc. I’ve been wanting to see this since I saw it on all the blogs.

The movie itself had a good message.  Basically…KNOW WHERE YOUR FOOD IS COMING FROM.  Try to eat locally.  Realize that our food economy is pretty much dominated by one product–corn.  And that eating lots of corn, especially as high fructose corn syrup can affect your health negatively.  A lot of what we eat is determined not by the consumers, but by the big corporations that are lobbying our government.

These are only a few random nuggets of information that stick in my mind.  Remember I am wicked tired right now from limited sleep after working last night 🙂

I was glad to see that many people were SHOCKED (I could tell by gasps in the movie theater) by the cruel treatment of animals who are slaughtered for our nation’s desire for meat products.  This movie really made me feel proud to be a vegetarian and I don’t think I can EVER go back.

The movie also frustrated me.  Mostly because if one is to eat more locally, one must have the money to do so.  This of course does not grow on trees as fast as our government produces corn products 🙂

It is really sad that many people will probably suffer from diabetes due to the SAD (standard American diet).  And at the same time we are trying to overhaul our health care system to care for everyone who is ill, a GREAT majority from diseases where obesity is a major risk factor.  (That part didn’t come from the movie, just from my random musings!).

All in all, the message of the movie was good, but it could have been more interesting.  At times I thought the movie was actually kind of boring. In fact my eyes may have shut for a moment or two!  To make an impact, and leave a lasting impression, this movie should have been a bit more exciting.

Again, everything I just said was MY OPINION.

If you saw the movie, what did you think?

I’m hoping that I will be more aware of what I eat on a day to day basis.  I also want to make a consious effort to eat more locally.

Just a brief tangent…the PEOPLE at the movie theater were so rude!  Some people came in 10 minutes after the movie started and were NOT quiet.  Some people were eating their popcorn awful loud.  And this person in front of us kept CONSTANTLY looking back towards her mom (who was sitting a row behind us)–very distracting!

I think the older I get the less I like people!

I was so glad to get home and have some peace and quiet.

On another tangent, we bought a collapsable step stool while we were out and about in Northampton.  This is so we will finally be able to reach the top shelves in the kitchen 🙂  I love that it folds up so we can just stick it under the cupboard.

The end of my night has been spent in front of the computer!  Such a computer nerd 🙂

My eyes are starting to close so it’s off to bed shortly I’m sure.  Busy day tomorrow.

Published in: on August 12, 2009 at 11:40 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/08/12/lemon-zucchini-bread/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Lemon Zucchini Bread (1/2 a […]


Leave a Reply

