Spanish Rice Bake

Saturday, September 19, 2009

Finally a new recipe!

I had time tonight to try something I had bookmarked quite a while ago.  It was worth the wait 🙂

This will become a winter staple I’m sure.  Warm, hearty and filling.  It’s from a cookbook I had bought a while ago–Betty Crocker Whole Grains.

Spanish Rice Bake

Serves four

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons canola oil

1 cup uncooked long-grain brown rice

1 medium onion, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

1 cup frozen whole kernel corn, thawed

1 can (10 and 3/4 oz) condensed tomato soup

2 and 1/2 cups boiling water

1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro (I left out because I didn’t have any)

1 teaspoon chili powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 and 1/2 cups shredded reduced-fat Colby-Montery Jack cheese (I used regular shredded Mexican Cheese)

To make:

Heat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large skillet, heat oil over medium heat.  Cook brown rice, onion, and bell pepper in oil 6-8 minutes, stirring frequently until rice is light brown and onion is tender.  Stir in corn.

100_2571

100_2574

In a large bowl, mix condensed tomato soup, boiling water, chili powder and salt. Stir in rice mixture and 1 cup of the cheese.  Pour into a 9 x 13 glass dish.

100_2575

Cover and bake 20 minutes.  Stir mixture–be careful it will be HOT.

Cover and bake another 30 minutes.  Stir mixture.  Sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup cheese.  Let sit out of oven for 10 minutes before serving–the cheese will get all gooey and melty!

Serve!

100_2577

100_2578

We had a salad on the side and apple slices with peanut butter for dessert.

This was VERY good and I’m glad we are going to have leftovers for tomorrow.

Let me tell you, two walks a day is very tiring for me!  I got 9 hours of sleep last night and could have slept more but got up because Kimm got up and we needed to take Izzy for a walk.  Then around 10 pm tonight I was practically falling asleep at the keyboard, so I took an hour nap and could have slept longer I’m sure.

Today when Kimm was mowing she “discovered” an underground yellow jackets nest!  Yikes. Nothing like having a swarm of them come out of the hole in the ground.  She used a whole container of the Raid but it didn’t do much.  She had to leave the side lawn undone.  Which made her VERY unhappy.  Meanwhile I called the Orkin man and someone is calling back on Monday.  I guess this explains the yellow jacket that got caught on her shorts and the one that got on my pants last week.  Can I say again, I HATE BEES!!!!

While Kimm was doing that today, I brought the big orange comfy chair into the office area and moved my desk into the other room.  So now when we are both in the office, I am a lot more comfortable.  It forced me to organize a bit.  But I still have a lot more to do.  Also did laundry–never ending I swear.

So glad I still have another two days off.  They are going by fast though as they always do!

100_2562

This is how our Izzy baby spends most of her free time 🙂

Published in: on September 19, 2009 at 11:36 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/09/19/spanish-rice-bake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

