Chocolate Dipped Cinnamon Biscotti

Monday, July 6, 2009

Last week while I was at work, a bunch of my co-workers and myself decided to have a potluck tonight.  Of course I didn’t really plan what to bring before we went grocery shopping and I was DETERMINED not to purchase anything that I didn’t have at home, so it was a bit of a challenge figuring out what to bring.  But as I was looking through a new cookbook that I had picked up from the local library (love me some free books!), I came across a recipe for Cinnamon-Hazelnut Biscotti.  Now I knew I didn’t have any hazelnuts, but I had the remainder of the ingredients and figured I could make them without the nuts.  So that’s exactly what I did this morning.  And I have to say, they turned out GREAT!

I’ve always seen biscotti at coffee shops and I believe I’ve had one or so in my life.  But I was excited to try these.  Here are some interesting facts about biscotti:

** they are an Italian cookie

** they are twice baked which gives them their crunchy texture

** they have a longer shelf life than most cookies because of their baking process (a month!)

So without further waiting, here is the recipe, adapted from a cookbook that I am GOING to have to buy it has so many yummy recipes: The Big Book of Vegetarian by Kathy Farrell-Kingsley.

100_2172

Chocolate Dipped Cinnamon Biscotti

Makes 24 cookies (and a few smaller tastes!)

Ingredients:
2 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup granulated, plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar

1 and 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 large eggs

2 tablespoons butter, melted

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Chocolate of choice to dip (I used milk chocolate)

To prepare:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with tin foil, or if you have it, parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix the flour, 3/4 cup sugar, baking powder, 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of the cinnamon, and the salt.

100_2155

100_2156

In a smaller bowl, whisk together the eggs, butter, and vanilla.

100_2159

100_2161

Add the wet ingredients to the flour mixture and stir just until blended.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and kneed lightly 10 times.  Place on the prepared baking sheet and shape into a 16 inch long roll.  Flatten to a 3/4 inch thickness.  In a small bowl, mixe the remaining 2 tablespoons sugar and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon.  Sprinkle over the dough.

100_2160

100_2163

Bake until firm, about 30 minutes.  Set the baking sheet on a wire rack to cool for 10 minutes.

100_2164

Using a serrated knife, cut the loaf diagonally into 24, 1/2 inch slices.  Arrange the slices on the baking sheet cut sides up.  Bake for another 15 minutes, turning each cookie half way through (that’s 7 and 1/2 minutes per side baby!) until crisp and golden brown.  Transfer to a wire rack and cool completely.

100_2165

To make chocolate dip, melt your chocolate in the microwave (I had leftover chocolate from Easter from Kimm’s mom…I wasn’t really wanting to eat it plain anymore, so I’m so glad I found the PERFECT use for it).  I just place in microwave for 15 seconds at a time, stirring each time until a melted consistency arrives.

100_2167

100_2168

I dipped one end of the biscotti in the chocolate and then placed back on the wire rack to cool.  Because it was so hot here, I had to put them in the refrig to harden 🙂

100_2169

100_2171

Now, enjoy with a cup of coffee.  I guess that’s the traditional way to eat a biscotti.  Heck, I eat them plain though and no one’s said anything yet!

Tonight I have to go to work 😦  But at least it’s only for one night and then three more off.  Working three nights a week ROCKS.  I love my time off.  There is always something to do!

Published in: on July 6, 2009 at 4:57 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/07/06/chocolate-dipped-cinnamon-biscotti/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

