Homemade Hashbrowns

Sunday, September 6, 2009

I feel like I did a LOT today, and the day is still not over.  But it was all fun 🙂

Of course, did the usual morning routine of coffee while checking out blogs, Facebook, Farmville, and Yoville.

Made a wonderful brunch–we had scrambled eggs, homemade hashbrowns, homemade honey wheat toast with peanut butter, banana and kiwi.  It was delish.

This was the first time I ever made hashbrowns from scratch.  Super easy.

Homemade Hashbrowns

Serves two

Ingredients:

2 raw potatoes

salt

pepper

1 tablespoon butter

To make:

Peel the potatoes and shred them with a coarse grater hole.  Place in colander and rinse well.  Then pat dry with paper towels.  Place in a bowl and season with salt and pepper to taste, stir thoroughly.

Heat a medium frying pan on medium-low heat.  Melt butter and coat pan with butter.  Add shredded potatoes and with a spatula, pat until flat in pan.  Cook for 10 minutes on one side.  Then cut into four sections and flip over to other side.  Cook an additional 10 minutes.

100_2496

100_2498

100_2499

100_2500

Here are our two plates.  Kimm wanted to make sure she got a picture in todays blog too!

100_2501

100_2502

Mine is the one with ketchup.

After lunch we went out for a drive.  We were going to return the last of our bottles, but unfortunately the redemption center was closed 😦

So we made a detour to the mall.

I wanted to stop at Track n’ Trail to see about some Dansko Professional Clogs for work.  My feet have been KILLING me and I’ve heard nothing but good things about these shoes.  They are supposed to provide excellent support.  I wasn’t sure what they would have in my size, but they did happen to have a few.  Of course, all black, no fun designs!  The perils of large feet!  I did find a pair and bought them.  I got a 10% discount for working in the health profession, but they STILL came to $103.  I’m going to wear them one night at work to see how they are and if I’m not satisfied, I’ll have to bring them back.

Then we stopped at Target.  Danger!  We found new dinnerware!!!  We have been using the same ol’ yellow and green plates for SO long.  Kimm found some really cool brown plates, with a leaf design.  I’m not sure of the material used for the leaf design, but it is so interesting.  Depending on how the light hits it, it can seem to be black, silver or copper.

100_2504

100_2505

We used them tonight for our dinner which was…

Ramon Noodle Stir-Fry!

Since we are trying to eat more healthy, I only used one package of the Ramen noodles and made much more veggies.  It made me feel much more healthy!

100_2507

Then after dinner tonight, we went up to the office to do some organizing…for TWO hours!  WOW.  We got a ton of stuff done and it looks so much better.  I’m sure there will be more changes being made, but for now, I like it.

That’s it.  Now we are relaxing and are going to watch a movie.  Last night we watched The Legend of Bagger Vance.  It was pretty good, but LONG–they could have cut out many parts.

Tomorrow is Labor Day and I will be laboring.  In for another night of work, then two off.

Published in: on September 6, 2009 at 11:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/09/06/homemade-hashbrowns/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment