Week 3: Honey Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Still running behind for this challenge.  But thankfully I have another recipe ready to go for Friday or Saturday.

This recipe I found on my Sparkpeople app for my iphone.  I was looking for something relatively healthy to use up a can of pumpkin.  Why you ask did I have a can of pumpkin?   Well, I had seen some people on different healthy living blogs mix pumpkin into their yogurt to amp up the nutrition.  Well, you wanna know what I kind of forgot?  I don’t really like pumpkin that much, at least in that form.  I was using like about half a teaspoon worth in the amount of yogurt I was eating to get it to the stage of “pumpkin-y” that I liked.  So I had a whole lot of pumpkin to use up before it went bad.  I looked for a baked recipe because I know that I like pumpkin in baked goods.  The plus was that this recipe called for 1/2 cup of honey because we had a large jar of honey that had been in the cabinet for so long that it was crystallizing which Kimm did NOT like.  So I heated the honey in the microwave to make it liquid again and used a good portion of it in this recipe.  Bonus!  And the best part.  The recipe was actually really good.  I will definitely make it again.

Honey Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins

Makes 12

Ingredients:

1/2 cup honey

1/4 cup applesauce, unsweetened (I used 1 apple chopped instead–didn’t have any applesauce)

2 eggs

1 and 1/2 cups pureed pumpkin (which equals about 1 can of Libby’s)

1/4 cup skim milk (I used whole…that’s what we use)

1 cup all-purpose whole wheat flour

1/2 cup old-fashioned oatmeal

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (I used 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg since I don’t have pumpkin pie spice)

To make:

In a large mixing bowl, beat honey, applesauce, eggs, pumpkin and milk.  In another bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and spices.  Add to pumpkin mixture and stir well.  Spoon into greased muffin tins, filling 3/4 full.  Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.

If you want, you can add some chopped walnuts and a sprinkling of white granulated sugar to the tops of the muffin before they bake which is what I did.

They turned out VERY moist and flavorful considering there was all whole-wheat flour in these.

I took one to work every night to have with my coffee and Kimm had one each morning with her coffee.

It’s nice to have muffins again.  They are such a nice, grab n’ go snack.

Hope you enjoy!

Published in: on January 27, 2010 at 5:37 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/week-3-honey-oatmeal-pumpkin-muffins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

