Coconut Maple Granola

Monday, August 10, 2009

I’m on a one day hiatus from work.  I have a crazy “on one day, off one day” schedule for this week.  I hate it because even though I get a day off, the majority of the first day is spent sleeping 😦  Or I get up earlier and then am tired earlier!  And even though I have a day off, work has already called begging asking me to come in tonight.  Of course I said “NO” (by not calling back!).  I value my time off too much to go in at their convenience.  Plus with switching me to the other weekend, I’m not in too much of a hurry to do things for them.  Not to mention that they never pay me when I stay extra.  But I am going off on a tangent!!

Anyways, so I did sleep in until 3:30 pm and then I made us burritos again for dinner.  So fast and easy on these hot days.  I promise to post the recipe ASAP (and would have tonight if I hadn’t forgotten to take a picture of the final meal!–that’s what happens when you are starving!)

But for dessert we had one of our usual–yogurt, granola and a bit of honey.  The granola we used today is a granola I baked the other night.  It is SO good.  I found the recipe on allrecipes.com.  I modified the recipe only slightly.  The original recipe, named Almond Maple Granola (he he, I even changed the name of the recipe!), can be found here.  Basically the only changes I made were to try to reduce the sugar.  I also left out ingredients that I didn’t have and felt were too expensive.  Here’s my version…

Coconut Maple Granola

Makes about 4 cups worth…

Ingredients:

3 cups old-fashioned oats

1/2 cup slivered almonds

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1 cup of sweetened flaked coconut

4 tablespoons pure maple syrup

6 tablespoons packed light brown sugar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 tablespoons warm water

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

To make:

Pre-heat oven to 250 degrees.  Spray a large cookie sheet with non-stick spray.

Place oats, almonds, walnuts, coconut and salt in a large bowl.

100_2318

Stir together.

100_2320

In a small bowl, place brown sugar, maple syrup, vegetable oil, salt, and warm water.

100_2319

Stir together.

100_2321

Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until thoroughly mixed.  Place on cookie tray in an even layer.

100_2322

Bake for 1 hr to 1 hr and 15 minutes, or until granola is golden brown.  Stir every half hour.  Watch the granola carefully at the end since it takes only a VERY little bit of time between golden granola and burned granola!

Cool completely.

Serve as regular cereal with milk, or with yogurt, or sprinkled on oatmeal, or in a parfait, or just eat directly out of the bowl 🙂

100_2329

The coconut really made this dish!

The best thing about this recipe is that you can adapt it any way you want!  Like next time, Kimm wants me to use more coconut.  She loved it.  The original recipe did call for a whole 14 oz bag but I only used 1 cup because I wanted to see how it was first.  And then next time I’ll leave out the walnuts because Kimm is not a fan of those, or maybe I’ll make my own separate batch.  You can add in any nuts, dried fruit, seeds that you want.  It’s for the creative soul 🙂

Tonight we went and saw the movie My Sister’s Keeper.  I liked it, but I have to say the book has lots of different twists that the movie did not show.  Somehow, I usually always prefer the book to the movie.  But this actually was pretty good.  I thought Cameron Diaz did a great job in a dramatic role, since she usually is in mostly comedies.  Watch the trailer here. If you haven’t read the book by Jodi Picoult, I highly suggest it!

Then we came home and took the trash and recyclables out.  Exciting life, huh?  There was this HUGE spider right outside of our door that has built a web.  Nasty.  We will have to get rid of the web and spray the door area tomorrow.

While going in and out with the trash a few mosquitoes came in and EVERY SINGLE ONE bit me.  I have about 6 new bites just from tonight.  GRRRR…

Right now we are sitting under the living room fan and doing geeky computer stuff.  We’re so funny.  I’m so glad to have even just one night off.  I’m so happy I decided not to go into work.  The extra money is always tempting, but sometimes you just need time for you.

Can’t wait for coffee in the morning.  And we have some wonderful blueberry pound cake to try (a lady was selling it at the movie theater and I couldn’t resist, it looked so good…she said she picked the blueberries herself!).

Good night.

Published in: on August 10, 2009 at 11:35 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/08/10/coconut-maple-granola/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

