Week 4: Chunky Apple Muffins

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

How did it get to be February already??

I’m (of course) behind with my recipe a week challenge to myself.  Although I shouldn’t say that.  I actually made this recipe over a week ago, just never got around to posting it.  So there!

I must be on a muffin kick–two of my four recipes thus far are muffins!  Truth be told, I was trying to use up stuff I had already here at home for both my muffin recipes (if you recall…the pumpkin muffins were using up old honey and a can of opened pumpkin).  This recipe was using up a bunch of less than stellar apples that I had since BEFORE  (!) Christmas.  They were just too mushy to eat straight up but I knew (hoped) they would be fine in baked goods.  And they were.  So this is a perfect recipe for those apples that you’re not sure what to do with when they get to the stage beyond what you will eat.

This recipe again is from Spark People.  Simple.  Dense.  Great for breakfast, especially with a smidgen of butter.

Chunky Apple Muffins

Makes 12

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 cup white sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

1 egg, beaten

1/4 cup butter, melted

1 cup apple, peeled, cored and chopped coarsely (actually I would say I had about 2 cups or more–four apples chopped–just what I had that I wanted to use up)

To make:

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease 12 muffin cups or use liners.  Stir together flour, baking powder, sugar, cinnamon, and salt.  In a separate bowl, stir together milk, egg, and butter.  Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients until just combined.  Fold in chopped apples.  Spoon batter into prepared muffin tin.  Bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center of a muffin comes out clean.

Now I’m off to get ready for work.  Thank goodness only one day!

Published in: on February 2, 2010 at 5:37 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2010/02/02/week-four-chunky-apple-muffins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

