Week Two: Couscous “Meatballs”

Thursday, January 21, 2010

I was in WI for Week Two of my “Recipe a Week” challenge.  So I made something new tonight.  Funny story about that too…I was going to make the recipe “Spaghetti and Spicy Rice Balls” from my Betty Crocker Easy Everyday Vegetarian cookbook because I thought I had all the ingredients.  HA!  Of course I had only a small amount of the main ingredient…the rice.  So I quickly improvised and used couscous.  So this is kind of my own recipe, based on that recipe.

Couscous “Meatballs”

Makes 16 “meatballs”

Ingredients:

1 cup water

1 vegetable bouillon cube

1 cup couscous

1 small onion chopped

1/8 cup Italian bread crumbs

1/4 cup quick cooking oats

1/8 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon dried basil leaves

1/4 teaspoon dried oregano leaves

2 shakes Mrs. Dash

1 egg white

1/4 cup Italian bread crumbs, placed in a small bowl

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

2 cups of your favorite tomato pasta sauce

To make:

Place water in small pot over high heat until boiling.  Add vegetable bouillon cube and stir into water until dissolved.  Add one cup of couscous to water and quickly stir, then remove from heat and allow to sit for five minutes.

While that is sitting, combine the onion, oats, bread crumbs, milk, dried herbs and egg white in a bowl and stir together.  Once couscous is done, fluff with fork and add to the bowl of mixed ingredients, stirring thoroughly.

Form couscous mixture into balls with your hands and then roll each ball in the reserved bread crumbs.  The size of the balls is up to you but I made mine about the size of a golf ball and it made 16 balls.

Heat up oil in a large skillet and place the couscous balls in the pan.  Cook for 10 minutes, rotating them so that they become crispy on all sides.

While this is happening, boil some water in a pan and cook some spaghetti.

When everything is done, plate the “meatballs” and spaghetti and coat with pasta sauce–as much or as little as you like.

So…our opinion of this dish.

Well, I really loved it.  It had a great flavor and really filled me up (I ate four).

Kimm liked it okay.  She seems to have a problem with couscous–in the regard that it gives her a stomachache!  Oh no!  So I felt HORRIBLE.  But she said she liked the taste and would be more than willing to try it again with the rice.

When I make it again I think I may up the spices a bit because the balls were actually pretty mild and I think we could have had some more flavor to them.  Also next time I think I may cook the balls and then add the pasta sauce to the pan they cook in to infuse the pasta sauce around the balls (kind of like how people cook regular meatballs in pasta sauce).

I was very glad I tried this recipe since I hadn’t even planned on making it and I was able to use everything from our cupboards.  I’m trying to buy minimal groceries for the rest of the month!

Today was a WONDERFUL relaxing day.  I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it.  We had Izzy’s class in the morning.  Which was SUPER embarrassing since she peed right in the middle of it–that’s the first time she ever did that.

Came home and had my coffee 🙂  Relaxed and read during the afternoon.  Took a shower.  Made dinner.  And now we are going to watch a movie.  A really nice day.

Tomorrow is back to work–ick.

Published in: on January 21, 2010 at 10:52 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/week-two-couscous-meatballs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

