Kaye’s Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Kimm is off at jury duty today.  She was up at 7 am and somehow, I got up then too.  Lately both of us have been having a lot of trouble sleeping.  I’m not sure why she is having difficulty, but I know my problems are related to this darn back pain and also waking up with an alarm on my days off.  I think on my next two days on (today and tomorrow) I will not use an alarm and just wake up when my body is ready and see if that makes a difference.

Anyways, in other news, the temperature is finally coming down!  today it is in the 70s and it feels so wonderful.  The house is reading 79 degrees and it is not humid at all.  What a drastic difference!  Loving it.

Since I didn’t sleep too many hours last night I may take a nap this afternoon.  That is why I am posting early today.   It actually feels strange to be writing a post so early in the day 🙂

For breakfast this morning I had a slice of the banana bread I made earlier this week.  We had just one lonely banana that was pretty much black and pure mush inside hanging out on the cupboard making the fruit flies VERY happy.  Since I don’t like to waste food, I decided to make a small loaf of banana bread.  Usually when I make banana bread it will make three small loaves.  So I just cut everything down.

The most AMAZING part…this was a recipe that I just made up!

I have made banana bread for quite a while now and know how the batter should look, and I just decided to do my own thing.  And it turned out GREAT!  Even better than the recipes that I normally use.  So I’m kinda glad that I never posted a banana bread recipe before.  This is THE ONE.  I will be making it frequently.  I especially like how it uses just one banana (of course if you have more bananas to use, just double or triple the recipe).

Kaye’s Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Makes one small loaf (8 slices)

Ingredients:

2/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 tablespoon butter, softened

1 very ripe banana

4 tablespoons chopped walnuts

To make:

Pre-heat the oven to 325 degrees.

Mix the dry ingredients in a medium bowl–the all-purpose flour, the whole wheat flour, the baking powder, the baking soda, and the salt.

In a small bowl cream together the butter and sugar.  Add a beaten egg.  Add the banana.  Make sure that all of these ingredients are well mixed.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.  Stir until just combined.  Fold in the walnuts.

Pour into a small loaf pan.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, until lightly browned and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out dry.

100_2441

I love the subtle nuttiness that the whole wheat flour gives to this bread.  It’s really delicious for breakfast, a snack, or dessert.  It’s nice when a recipe is versatile!  BTW, 150 calories a slice (which I only know because of the Sparkpeople–it would be less without the walnuts, but they are such a good addition).

I cannot say this enough, but I am so proud of myself for making my own recipe.  I never thought that I would do this.  I’m such a “by the book” kind of gal.  It felt kind of freeing just mixing together stuff.  I think this will give me new confidence to be more creative in the kitchen.

I feel indecisive as to what to do right now.  I haven’t had the house to myself in quite a while.  Maybe a nap?

Published in: on August 25, 2009 at 10:54 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/08/25/kayes-whole-wheat-banana-bread/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

