Banana Cake Two Ways: Brown Sugar Glaze and Powdered Sugar

Sunday, October 11, 2009

So remember a while back I told you I made a banana cake?  Well, it was DELICIOUS! So moist and banana-y.

I got the recipe from a blog called How To Cook Like Your Grandmother.  I found this site just by random googling of “banana cake.”  I was looking for a recipe that I had all of the ingredients and that just sounded good.  This one hit the spot.  I highly recommend it.  The only changes were that 1) I did not make a three layer cake (I only have TWO cake pans!)–I put the extra batter in two mini loaf pans, and 2) I did not make the brown sugar butter cream frosting that the blog recommended (not because it did not look divine, but ONLY because it had SO much butter in it and I wanted this cake to be at least A LITTLE bit healthier)–instead I improvised and used two different toppings–one that I created all on my own!

Banana Cake

Makes enough for three cake layers or two cake layers and two mini loaf pans!

Ingredients:

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup butter (1 stick), softened to room temperature

2 egg yolks

3 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

3 crushed bananas

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 egg whites, beaten

To make:

Combine the butter and sugar and beat on low speed until completely combined.

Add the egg yolks and beat on high speed until the mixture is light and fluffy.

In a separate bowl combine the dry ingredients–flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Whisk thoroughly.

Starting and ending with the mixed dry ingredients, alternate adding the dry ingredients and the milk to the sugar, butter, egg yolk mixture, beating each time until just incorporated.  This should leave you with a nice soft, fluffy batter.

Add the mashed bananas to the batter.

Add the vanilla and beat until combined.

In a separate bowl, whip the egg whites until stiff peaks form.  Fold the egg whites into the batter carefully.

Pour the batter into greased and floured pans.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes or until toothpick inserted into thickest part comes out dry.

Cool cakes completely before topping.

The Toppings!!

One cake and one mini loaf pan was simply topped with powdered sugar.  Simple and good.  This made me think about how much I REALLY need a mini sifter.  I had to just sprinkle it on using a spoon and so therefore, there are a few lumps!

My very own….

Brown Sugar Glaze

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons butter

1/4 cup brown sugar

1-2 tablespoons milk

To make:

Add butter and brown sugar to frying pan over low to medium heat.

Once the butter and sugar have melted and fully combined, add enough milk to make a consistency that is easy to spread on the cake.

Kimm and I ABSOLUTELY LOVED this topping.  Next time I make it, I will ONLY be using this glaze.  It’s that good.   Sweet, but not overly sweet.

I really hope you enjoy this cake.  It’s scrumptious!

100_2627

100_2635

100_2636

Last but not least, my little brother’s birthday is today.  Unbelievably he is 35 years old…how can that be when I am only 25! (ha ha…)

HAPPY BIRTHDAY KURT!!!

kurt on the grill

Cooking on the grill!

kurt orange shirt

Acting silly 🙂

kurt in comfy chair

Relaxing in the comfy recliner…

LOVE YOU AND MISS YOU MUCH!!!

Published in: on October 11, 2009 at 8:53 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/10/11/banana-cake-two-ways-brown-sugar-glaze-and-powdered-sugar/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! I’m out of cream cheese, and it seems like every banana cake frosting has cream cheese in it–except yours! So I’m off to make some frosting, thank you 🙂

  2. thank you for the brown sugar glaze recipe. i drizzled it on my pineapple upside down cake.it was very good

  3. Cakes are used at both wealthy and even medium class individuals events.
    Maybe you will find recipes for cakes other in the world.
    “I’ve got to get better at feeling gratitude in this situation,” says the client.

  4. roofing repair newark

    Banana Cake Two Ways: Brown Sugar Glaze and Powdered Sugar | Okay, Kaye?


Leave a Reply

