Week 10: The VERY BEST Banana Cake (with Brown Sugar Glaze)

Saturday, April 17, 2010

Yep, I got WAY behind schedule on the recipe a week!   I guess that’s what happens when you decide to switch to a whole different floor at the hospital and have to be trained.  You kind of revert back to the “oldies, but goodies” that you know you can whip up in a short amount of time.  But that doesn’t mean I’ve given up on my goal.  A total of 52 recipes will be posted this year!  I’m determined.

Anyways, we had a whole bunch of VERY ripe bananas on our counter (this seems to happen frequently–somehow we buy them, with the hopes of eating them, but then they turn too quickly–at least for me…I don’t like a sweet banana when eating raw).  So I did some searching on allrecipes.com and found a recipe for banana cake that I tweaked.  It turned out SO GOOD.  Seriously this is the best banana cake I’ve ever had.  Even better than the Banana Cake Two Ways that has gotten quite a bit of hits on this site since I posted it.   Really–it’s that good.  I did top it with my own brown sugar glaze.   Kimm LOVED it.  In fact she said we might have to get bananas and purposely let them get brown so we (meaning me) can make this cake.

The VERY BEST Banana Cake (with Brown Sugar Glaze)

Makes enough for a 9 x 13 pan

Ingredients:

Cake

6 very ripe bananas

1 cup white sugar

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature

2 eggs, room temperature

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups cake flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Glaze

4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons milk

To make:

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.

Grease and flour a 9 x 13 inch pan.

Peel the bananas and place in medium bowl.  Mush until very creamy.

In a large bowl, cream together the white sugar and butter until light and fluffy.

Add one egg at a time and mix well after each one.

Add vanilla extract and mix well.

Add mashed bananas to creamed sugar/butter/egg mixture and mix well.

In a separate medium bowl, mix cake flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Stir to combine.

Add flour to banana mixture 1/2 cup at a time, mixing well after each addition.

Pour batter into 9 x 13 pan and bake for approximately 30 minutes or until cake springs back when pressed lightly and top is lightly browned (this turned out to be 27 minutes for me).

Cool cake completely before adding the glaze.

To make glaze, melt butter in a sauce pan.  Add brown sugar and milk and stir until combined.  Allow to cool for a few minutes to thicken.  Pour over cake and spread evenly.

Can’t wait to have some more 🙂

Published in: on April 17, 2010 at 8:35 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2010/04/17/week-10-the-very-best-banana-cake-with-brown-sugar-glaze/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi…try adding 2/3 c buttermilk to your banana cake base…It will be very moist and soft. Goodluck! let me know if you like it. =)

  2. […] One of my most popular posts–I made The VERY BEST Banana Cake with Brown Sugar Glaze […]

  3. I just tried this. Currently baking in the oven! Smells heavenly! 🙂

  4. I made this for a group of seniors-and they loved it without a heavy icing. THanks for the recipe-quick and easy too!!!!

  5. This is the best blog Ive ever seen in my life! I really appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to share your this with everyone.


Leave a Reply

