Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

I have posted this recipe on the blog before.  A few times.  It’s just so good.  When I made the meal plan for this week, Kimm was super psyched that I was planning on making this.  It’s one of her favorite meals.

But I don’t know what possessed me to turn the oven on when we are having temps in the 80s with 93% humidity!!!  Needless to say, the kitchen felt like a sauna.  But the final result, our DELICIOUS dinner, made up for it.

So, here is the recipe one more time 🙂

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

*Recipe adapted from Betty Crocker’s Big Red Cookbook–my adaptations in (parentheses)

Serves 4 very hungry people–large servings…probably 8 smaller servings

Ingredients:

2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni (I use a whole box–16 oz of the large pasta shells–I think they hold the cheese sauce better!)

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/4 teaspoon ground mustard (I use closer to 1/2 teaspoon and could use even more…love that mustard flavor)

1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce (again I use about 1/2 teaspoon and sometimes more…gives it a bit of a bite!)

2 cups milk

2 cups shredded sharp Cheddar cheese

To make:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Cook pasta as directed on package (I do mine for 10 minutes).

While pasta is cooking, melt butter in a large pan over low heat.  Stir in flour, salt, pepper, mustard and Worcestershire sauce.  Cook over low heat–it will form a paste pretty quickly.  Add in milk and heat to boiling stirring constantly.  Once boiling, boil for one minute–the sauce should be really thick by this point.  Then remove from heat and stir in the cheese.  The heat from the flour/milk sauce will melt the cheese.  Oh, so good.

Drain the pasta and pour into the large pot with the cheese sauce.  Stir until pasta is coated evenly.

Pour mixture into a 9 x 13 inch baking dish.  Bake uncovered for 30 minutes.

Remove from oven and cool for 10 minutes and then serve.

100_0160

This is an old picture…I was too lazy to take a picture tonight!  And I had used different noodles that time.  But it still takes the same.  I’m so happy we have leftovers for tomorrow!

This recipe is definitely a keeper!

I hear it’s only going to be the same weather tomorrow…more hot and humid.  Not looking forward to that.  What I do look forward to is the air conditioning in my bedroom tonight 🙂

Published in: on July 29, 2009 at 9:56 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/07/29/baked-macaroni-and-cheese/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

