Decadent Apple Crisp

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

On Labor Day I wanted to make a really good dessert and I wanted to use ingredients that I already had on hand.  So I decided on an apple crisp.  I looked over the recipes on allrecipes.com and thought this one sounded the most rich and flavorful.  And boy, was I right.  This is the most delicious apple crisp that I have EVER had.  This recipe is a keeper and will probably be made MANY times this fall.  I cut the recipe in half to made four servings.  I would seriously recommend that you try this recipe if you like apple crisp.  I tweaked it by adding some whole wheat flour…I can’t say that it made it more healthier, since there is still a lot of butter and sugar.  I think what put this apple crisp over the top  is that there is a “crisp” part on the bottom AND the top of the apples 🙂

Decadent Apple Crisp

Serves four

Ingredients:

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup old-fashioned oats

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 stick butter, melted

1 and 1/2 cups apples, peeled and chopped (best with a tart apple–I used Jonamac–for me this was three small apples)

1/4 cup white sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

To make:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Lightly grease an 8×8 square pan.

In a large bowl, combine brown sugar, oats, flours, and butter.  Mix until crumbly.  Place half of the mixture in the bottom of the pan.

Spread the apples evenly over the crumb mixture.  Sprinkle with the white sugar and cinnamon.

Top with remaining crumb mixture.

Cover with tin foil.  Cook in over for 30-40 minutes until golden brown.

100_2531

100_2534

Today was a good day.

We FINALLY got the remainder of our empty beer bottles to the redemption center!  We are all caught up and I could cross that off my list (it’s been on there for quite a while!).

Kimm mowed the lawn and had a little mishap.  She was stung THREE times by a wasp.  It was caught in her shorts.  Strange how that happened, but thankfully she got it off of her before it stung her more.  I’m just glad it wasn’t me…if you don’t know, I have a phobia of bees/wasps/hornets/bumblebees.

I even went outside and did some weeding myself.  About 40 minutes worth.  Enough to get me sweaty.

And I made some homemade spaghetti sauce with all of our tomatoes that we had on the window ledge.  It tasted pretty darn good to me, but we didn’t have it tonight so I will make a final opinion when we have it for a meal.

It was an absolutely beautiful day, in the mid seventies, breezy and sunny.  I loved it.

And tonight I watched a mini-marathon of Top Chef.

Popcorn is in our future, and maybe a drinky-drink!

Published in: on September 9, 2009 at 10:45 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/09/09/decadent-apple-crisp/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

