Oven Toasted Zucchini Grinders

Saturday, July 18, 2009

I only have 13 minutes to try to post this before it becomes July 19th 🙂

Sometimes I am such a dork.  I like my posts to post on the day that they occurred!

So, this is what I am doing now…

100_2228

Some wine (we opened the bottle from Peter, our realtor–very tasty) and my computer

Today I accomplished a bit more than yesterday–which is a good thing.  First, I helped Kimm go through about 2/3 of the stuff of hers that was in boxes and bags in the basement.  She threw out a HUGE black plastic bag of stuff.  I just love it when we get rid of stuff.  Less stuff to store.  She’s been meaning to go through that stuff for quite a while, but today she had the momentum to do it.

Then, I cooked three different things!  Two meals, and one dessert.  I will showcase them in the next couple of days.

Today I will give the recipe for some really yummy grinders.  Simple and satisfying.  We were both starving after being in the basement for almost two hours!

Oven Toasted Zucchini Grinders

Serves two

Ingredients:

Two zucchini, cut into chunks, with skin still on

1 tablespoon butter

Salt and pepper

1 cup spaghetti sauce

Two grinder rolls

Approximately 1/2 cup of mozzerella cheese

To make:

First cut up the zucchini.

100_2201

Then add the butter to a large skillet.  Add the zucchini and then salt and pepper to taste.  Cook over medium heat for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionaly, until the zucchini is softened, and slightly browned.

100_2202

Add the spaghetti sauce and stir until warm.

100_2203

At this point, preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Place each grinder roll on a sheet of tin foil.  Then spoon half of the zucchini mixture into each roll.  Top generously with cheese.

100_2204

Create little packets with the tin foil by bringing the edges up over the roll and crimping together.  Place on a cookie sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes (less if you like a less crispy roll, more if you like a really toasty roll like me!).  Remove from oven and let sit about 5 minutes before eating.

100_2205

Oh yeah, baby…

And after, for dessert, I had to have some yogurt, granola, and honey mixed together.  I’m OBSESSED.  SO. GOOD.

I wish I could have done this all day.

100_2217

100_2218

100_2219

100_2220

The life of leisure…

It was hot and humid out today so we made an executive decision to go to Barnes and Noble tonight to sit in the air conditioning.  It was nice.  Of course we had to treat ourselves to a Mint Mocha Chip Frappacino.  Those things are dangerously addicting.  Thankfully I made it out without buying anything else.  But I used my iphone to take a bunch of pictures of books I want to look for at the local library.

Now after my blog is posted, I will relax by catching up with my google reader with the blogs I follow.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

p.s.  I didn’t get to post this for today since it’s 12:09.  DARN.

Published in: on July 19, 2009 at 12:09 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/07/19/oven-toasted-zucchini-grinders/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

