Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

Thursday, September 24, 2009

This week has just zipped by.  I guess that’s what happens when you have off for the majority of it!

Tonight I FINALLY got to make this recipe that I had planned for quite a while.  It’s from one of my cookbooks, Good Housekeeping Vegetarian Meals.  I altered it only slightly.  This is a keeper.

Good news!  I have a new kitchen companion 🙂

Izzy loves to be with you all the time.  So when I was in the kitchen cooking, she plopped down next to the oven and stayed the whole time.

Cuteness!

100_2582

100_2586

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped (I did not have on hand…substituted with 1 teaspoon garlic salt)

2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch pieces

1 tablespoon chili powder

1 jar (16 ounces) mild salsa (I used Nature’s Promise, organic, mild)

1 cup water (I used three cups)

2 cans (15 ounces) black beans with their liquid* (I did not use the liquid–I rinsed the beans well)

1/2 cup sour cream (not used because no cilantro)

1/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves, chopped (sadly did not have on hand)

To make:

In a large soup pot, heat oil over medium-high heat until hot.  Add onion and garlic (or garlic salt).  Cook, stirring occasionally until soft (approximately 5 minutes).

Stir in sweet potatoes, chili powder, salsa, and water.  Heat until boiling.  Reduce heat to medium-low and cook, stirring occasionally, until potatoes are fork-tender (approximately 15 minutes).

100_2583

100_2584

100_2585

Add beans and cook another 20 minutes.

100_2587

100_2592

In a small bowl, stir together sour cream and cilantro to combine.  Serve chili with cilantro sour cream.

*I don’t like using the liquid from the canned beans.  I ALWAYS rinse them.  So to make up for that, I added extra water.  I added a lot more water–2 additional cups!–because I like chili to sit on the stove and reduce down to have a stronger flavor.  Worked like a charm!

BTW–I would have LOVED the cilantro sour cream but had none on hand.  Will definitely try this when I have it.  Instead, we served ours with a side of bread (Kimm)/toast (me).

100_2598

100_2599I LOVED this meal and know that I will be making it very often.  It was so easy too which I absolutely loved.  I’ve never really eaten sweet potatoes, so I’m glad I’m incorporating another different vegetable into my diet.

For dessert I whipped something up as well.  I took four small Jonamac apples that were past their eating fresh prime and made caramel apple sauce.  I put it in the fridge to cool down while we ate dinner.  Then placed a small amount of yogurt (maybe 1/4 cup) in a bowl, half the caramel apple sauce, and 1/4 cup of some homemade granola.  Mixed it all up–holy yum!

100_2610

Lunch was good too…two slices of multi grain toast with roasted red pepper hummus, cottage cheese, 1/2 a black plum, and 1/2 a kiwi.

100_2580Of course, coffee for breakfast.  Great as usual.  I have a new cream I got that was on sale…Caramel Vanilla Brownie–divine.

We are gobbling up Gossip Girl.  Almost through the two discs we got yesterday.  I saw online today that there are two seasons on DVD and the 3rd season just started.  I hope this show goes for quite a while.  It’s addicting.

It will be a quiet night.  Bed early so the day will start earlier tomorrow.

Published in: on September 24, 2009 at 9:15 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/09/24/black-bean-and-sweet-potato-chili/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

