Vanilla Cinnamon French Toast

Saturday, July 4, 2009

This morning I woke up earlier than I wanted to 😦  I fell asleep really fast last night because I was so tired, but with the sun shining in this morning, it just woke me right up.  And then even though I closed my eyes and tried to relax, sleep just didn’t happen!  So I hopped out of bed to begin the day.

The day began with a cup of coffee (of course!).  One thing that I have done is to cut out artificial sweeteners (well, as much as I can…I still like my Diet Pepsi!)  So far it has not been that difficult.   I can’t even remember the last time I HAD a Diet Pepsi.  I have switched over to regular sugar in my coffee as well.  This made me nervous though, because I also wanted to cut down the total amount of sugar I use.  And since artificial sweeteners are a more concentrated sweetener than regular sugar, I thought I would be using MORE sugar, instead of less!  Well, over time (the last few weeks) I’ve been slowly decreasing the amount of sugar and flavored creamer I put in my coffee.  Now I am down to 1/2 teaspoon sugar and one tablespoon creamer!  WOW!  I think that’s the LEAST amount of creamer I’ve ever used (I think I used to add about 2-3 tablespoons!).  This bottle of creamer has lasted, like, forever 🙂  I’m hoping to get down to 1/2 tablespoon of creamer.  I’m not sure if I’ll ever be able to drink coffee black…I find it too bitter.  But they say your tastes change when you eat differently, so we shall see!

Since we had gone grocery shopping yesterday and had a full pantry, but still a few things to use up from the prior week I knew EXACTLY what to have for breakfast….French Toast!  I haven’t made this in SO long.  But I had a real hankering for it, probably because I see it featured on Healthy Tipping Point so much 🙂  When I mentioned it to Kimm, she gave me the thumbs up!

I haven’t made French Toast in a while, but I knew it was basically egg and milk.  But I wanted to make it extra special so I made…

Vanilla Cinnamon French Toast

Serves 2 (2 slices each)

Ingredients:

4 slices of whatever bread you like, even better if it is slightly stale

2 eggs

1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon real vanilla extract

approximately 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (I just did a couple good shakes)

To prepare:

Mix the eggs, milk, vanilla, and cinnamon in a pie pan.  Heat up a griddle (or in our case, two small frying pans).  Dunk each slice of bread into the egg mixture, making sure both sides are saturated.  Place on grill and allow to fry on each side.

That’s it.  So simple.  Serve with maple syrup, fresh fruit, yogurt, or whatever you like.

We had ours with banana and blueberries, and real maple syrup–so delicious!

100_2088

A perfect breakfast!

After an invigorating walk/run, we continued our good eating for lunch with the rest of the Super Simple Roasted Veggie Pasta Salad (all gone 😦 so sad).  On the side was a slice of homemade cheesy bread (butter, garlic salt, and mozz cheese, under the broiler in the toaster oven).  And on the side a wonderful Braeburn apple with all natural peanut butter.  So satisfying!

100_2090

I love all these veggies, and who doesn’t like cheese–not a Wisconsin girl like me!

100_2091

So crisp, and I LOVE the saltiness and texture of this PB.

Kimm and I both took a nap this afternoon!  It was just so relaxing with the beautiful breeze blowing in from outside.

We continued our wonderful day of eating with our dinner.

100_2101

Veggie burger with carmalized onions, slice of tomato, mustard, and ketchup, with sliced cucumbers and tomato chunks drizzled with Italian vinaigrette on the side…

100_2093

A bed of crisp romaine salad (bag mix!), with cucumbers, grape tomatoes, and cheesy croutons…I had a bit of Ranch dressing on top

100_2097

And the last of our fresh pineapple…this stuff rocks!

Now Kimm’s brother is stopping over and we are planning on watching Friday the 13th.  They’ve been wanting to see it for quite a while now.  What do you think of that for Fourth of July plans?

Happy Independence Day!

Published in: on July 4, 2009 at 7:33 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/07/04/vanilla-cinnamon-french-toast/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

