Snickerdoodle Blondies

Monday, July 20, 2009

The alternate name for these bars of goodness would be “crack blondies.”  They are so addicting.

I found the recipe for them through a blog I have been following named Lick the Bowl Good.  She makes tons of delicious looking treats!  She got the recipe from Dozen Flours, another blog, who said these bars are all around blogsphere!  Well, when something is good, word about it travels.  When I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it because I had all the ingredients on hand and it is a pretty inexpensive dessert which is very good when you are trying to save money like me 🙂

I cut the recipe in half because I only had one stick of butter on hand.   But I think I would make them exactly the same next time because then you get more edge pieces which are the yummiest.  It made 12 good sized bars.  We only have two left!  I also did not use the cinnamon chips because we didn’t have any.  But honestly, I didn’t even miss them.

Here’s the recipe…

Snickerdoodle Blondies

Makes 12 bars

Ingredients:

One and 1/3 cup all-purpose flour

One teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

One cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup butter (one stick), room temperature

One egg, room temperature

1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

One tablespoon white sugar (for topping)

One teaspoon cinnamon (for topping)

To make:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly grease an 8 x 8 inch glass pan with the butter wrapper that the butter you will be using is in.

In large bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.  Set aside.

In a smaller bowl, cream the butter and brown sugar (I do this by hand…so rewarding and easy when it is at room temperature!).  Add the egg and vanilla and mix until smooth.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until well blended.  The dough will be thick.  Spread into greased pan.

In a small bowl, mix the white sugar and cinnamon until blended and then sprinkle evenly over the dough.

Bake for 25-30 minutes until it springs back lightly when pressed.  Cool.  (Note:  I cooked mine for 25 minutes and they were slightly underdone, but I LOVED them this way).  Cut into bars.  Eat and enjoy.  Hopefully they will last more than a few days.  I already have plans to make more this week!

100_2215

Brown sugar goodness…chewy, sweet, crackly on top…I could have eaten SEVERAL at a time 🙂

And in case you are interested in knowing what snickerdoodle means, here you go.

Now I must try to take a small nap before my shower, dinner and work.

In other news, Kimm is mowing the lawn because we are due for 10 days of rain starting tomorrow 😦

Published in: on July 20, 2009 at 3:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/07/20/snickerdoodle-blondies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

