“Holy, moly that’s good!” Guacamole

Friday, June 26, 2009

For a while now, I have been trying to convince Kimm that we should eat mostly non-processed, home-cooked meals.  I would talk, she would listen, but not really agree with what I was saying.  Until now 🙂  Just yesterday, she was saying…”we should really eat more REAL food.”  Meaning, food that you can actually pronounce all the ingredients!

Now of course I know this is not going to happen immediately.  But now, since we are both on board, we can work to incorporate more and more real foods into our diet.  So I figured that I would document this on the blog.  I added a new category on the side of the blog, named, simply…Recipes.  I will post recipes here that I feel are really good.  We are going to try many new recipes I’m sure and not all of them will be to our liking.  But if a recipe gets “two thumbs up” from both Kimm and I, then I will post it.  I hope you enjoy it.  So in a way, my blog will have a healthy eating slant.

So I thought the first recipe that I should post would HAVE to be my guacamole.  I think I have posted this recipe before, but I’m not sure if it has changed at all from the last time I have posted it.  Right now I have it down exactly how we both like it.  Kimm absolutely loves guacamole.  I used to think it was just so-so, but now that I have made it so many times, I have been able to adapt it so that I love it too.  This recipe is for a two person amount (generous servings), or four servings (if you are going to just have a little bit–this RARELY happens with us…smile).

So here is my first “official” recipe for my sidebar!

“Holy, moly that’s good!” guacamole

Ingredients:

1 Haas avocado, slightly soft when pressed

1 tablespoon minced white onion

1 garlic clove, either crushed through a garlic press or finely minced

1 large tomato, diced

the juice of 1/2 a lime

1-2 tablespoons minced cilantro (which is really about a handful of the leaves, rolled up and julliene sliced)

salt to taste (for us that is 4 pinches, after which I still taste test and add more if needed)

To make:

Cut the avocado in half and remove the pit.  Scoop out the flesh into a bowl.  Mash avocado with a fork, so it is still a little chunky.  Add the minced onion, crushed garlic, diced tomato, and minced cilantro.  DO NOT stir yet*.  Squeeze the lime juice over the pile.  DO NOT stir yet*.  Add the salt.  Now, stir mixture gently to incorporate all the ingredients.  DO NOT over stir*.  If you stir too much it will get too creamy and you lose the chunkiness of the avocado.  Do a taste test.  If it is salty enough for you, you are done!  If you feel it needs more salt, add more, and stir gently.

That’s it.

Now eat it with tortilla chips, or use with quesadillas, or on top of a veggie burger, or as a dip for chopped veggies, or just eat it plain…it’s that good 🙂

100_2019

* There is a funny story about the guacamole and stirring.  One time when we made this, Kimm was helping me with it and I wasn’t paying attention and she stirred, and stirred, and stirred it all together, and it got really creamy and we both really disliked the taste.  Ever since then, I make sure that I gently stir the guacamole 🙂  Some people may like it really creamy, but we just don’t.

I have made this guacamole MANY times and for several groups of our friends…everyone has loved it!

So, I can’t believe that today is over.  Really, where did the time go?!

We didn’t get to bed last night until about 2 am!  And we had set our alarm for 9 am to get ready for Peter (our real estate agent) who was coming to visit.  We dragged ourselves out of bed when the alarm went off and did a quick pick up, took showers, and then brewed some coffee.

It was SO nice to visit with Peter.  I’m just so glad that we have a nice relationship with our realtor.  He’s been so good to us.  We showed him everything we’ve done with the house, and talked to him about what’s been going on and told him we needed some good referrals for a plumber, a landscaper, and someone to do the heat in the upstairs.  The hour flew by!  We are thinking we will need to get together with him again soon, maybe for a glass of wine.  Speaking of wine, Peter brought us this for a house warming gift…

100e2027

Can’t wait to try this…

The rest of the day we spent at the mall.  We got a few things…a large candle from Yankee Candle for only $12 (normally $25!), some earrings (mine broke in the shower), a new ice cream scoop and pizza cutter, some more wasp spray, a new beach umbrella holder (ours broke last year at the beach…the new one is metal instead of plastic), and some WWI and WWII posters that we will frame for the living room.

Kimm watched the 1st round draft picks for hockey and I caught up on my blogs.

And that’s where the day went.

Tomorrow we have a Hawaiian themed birthday party for the boyfriend of one of our friends.  Even though I have to work, we’re going to stop in for a few hours.  So tomorrow will be busy.  Good thing I only have to work for two days.

Guess what, it’s STILL raining!  Just thought I’d let you know in case you forgot!

Published in: on June 27, 2009 at 12:01 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/06/27/holy-moly-thats-good-guacamole/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few
    of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

  2. What’s up to every one, since I am genuinely
    keen of reading this webpage’s post to be updated on a regular basis.

    It includes pleasant stuff.

  3. My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You can not
    imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

  4. I’m more than happy to find this great site.
    I need to to thank you for your time just foor this wonderful read!!
    I defknitely savored every bit of it and I have you saved as a favorite to look at new information on your
    blog.


Leave a Reply

