Week 11: Honey Mustard Garlic Vinaigrette

Sunday, April 18, 2010

It’s another chilly one here today.  That random warm weather we had a few weeks ago is but a dream at this point.  I’m currently bundled up, but still cold!

Tonight I’m heading to work and I’m going to try to take a nap this afternoon so I figured I would do a quick post now.

For the last few weeks, whenever we have a salad, I’ve been making this vinaigrette.   For a long time I wanted to make my own salad dressing because bottled salad dressings have ingredients that I can’t pronounce and am a little scared to know what they are.  I just want to eat something that I know every ingredient and that is fresh.  That is this. Even Kimm loves it 🙂

Honey Mustard Garlic Vinaigrette

Makes enough for two very large salads

Ingredients:

Approximately 5 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil (I just do 5 glugs)

3 capfuls of red wine vinegar

Approximately 1 teaspoon honey (I just do one squeeze)

Approximately 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard (I just do one squeeze)

Approximately 1/4 teaspoon Kosher salt (I do three large pinches)

Approximately 1/8 teaspoon pepper (I do 10-15 turns of the grinder)

1 large, or 2 small, garlic cloves, finely minced

To make:

Combine all ingredients in a small jar with a tight lid.  Shake vigorously until combined.  Pour over salad.

By the way, we LOVE avocado on our salad.  I remember a time when I really didn’t care for avocado.  Now I wait for it to be on sale and stock up!  Sadly, the salad we had last night was avocado-less 😦  Still tasty though.

Love the yellow color…

Love the mellowness of the olive oil, combined with the tartness of the vinegar, and the sweetness of the honey…

The only other plan I have for today is to make homemade mac and cheese for dinner.

Actually can’t wait to take my shower before work tonight so I can warm up.  BRrrrr!!

Published in: on April 18, 2010 at 12:52 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2010/04/18/week-11-honey-mustard-garlic-vinaigrette/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] I featured my Honey Mustard Garlic Vinaigrette (LOVE on summer salads) […]


Leave a Reply

