Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Saturday, August 29, 2009

Yesterday, I decided to make a batch of cookies to have for dessert when Kimm’s mom came for lunch and to take for a little treat when we met our friends later in the evening.

I turned to a classic, the Oatmeal Cookie recipe found on the underside of the Quaker Oats Oatmeal package.  You seriously cannot go wrong with these cookies.  They are soft and chewy, subtly sweet, packed with oats, raisins, and brown sugar.  I absolutely love them.  I think there is a reason that Quaker Oats named them the Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 🙂

100_2467

So without further adieu, here is the recipe… (even though you can see it above…oh well, in case you wear glasses!)

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

4 dozen cookies (I always cut the recipe in half because it would not be good for my waistline to eat that many cookies!)–WHAT FOLLOWS IS THE RECIPE FOR THE FULL BATCH TO MAKE 4 DOZEN

Ingredients:

1/2 pound (2 sticks) butter, softened

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 cups Quaker Oats, quick or old-fashioned, uncooked (I use the old-fashioned)

1 cup raisins

To make:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Blend together butter and sugars until creamy.  I do this by hand of course to work up an appetite for the cookies!

100_2458

100_2459

Add eggs and vanilla; beat well.

100_2461

100_2462

Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well.

100_2463

100_2464

100_2465

Stir in oats and raisins; mix well.

100_2469

100_2468

100_2470

Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet.

100_2471

Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.  Mine take 11 minutes every time!

Cool 5 minutes on cookie sheet; remove to wire rack to cool for at least 20 minutes more.

Enjoy.

100_2475

These are all we have left after yesterday 😦

100_2476

Don’t worry…we will enjoy every last delicious bite!

Just in case you wanted to know, each cookie has 100 calories.

Tonight starts my three night weekend.  My only goal is to have a positive attitude.  I think I need that more than anything.  I find this quote that a friend posted on Facebook to be completely true…

“The mind is everything.  What you think, you become”–Khurana

I don’t know who this Khurana person is…but I know that lately I’ve been so negative at work, and it’s turning me into a negative, complaining, ungrateful person.  I don’t want to be that person.  So I have to make a conscious effort to think what I want to be…a kind, caring, happy person.  Wish me luck.

Published in: on August 29, 2009 at 2:06 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2009/08/29/chewy-oatmeal-raisin-cookies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

