Garage Prep

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

When it rains, it pours, right?

This week has been BUSY!

Mostly because of Kimm’s surgery and helping her recover.  If you’ve never helped anyone recover from major surgery, it is a lot.  Especially if the person is in a lot of pain and can’t do the things that they normally do.

I’m not complaining about this…believe me I WANT to do this, I know Kimm would do the same for me if I ever had surgery…I’m just saying, it takes a lot out of you!

Anyways, today was more of the same…Kimm is still having quite a bit of pain with swallowing and pain in her neck.  I can only imagine…I mean they cut right through the muscle in the neck.  So more pain med, more sleep.

It helped her a lot sleeping on the couch rather than in the bed last night.  Too much of an incline or something in the bed, and too hard to move to get a drink of water (which she does frequently!)  So we both slept downstairs…or I should say, Kimm dozed on and off, I watched a shitload of TV (have to say I REALLY love that Food Network show Chopped…ever seen it?), and occasionally I was able to nap as well.  Certainly not a very restful night for either of us…BUT we made it through.

The one good thing about today is that she was able to eat a bit more…some scrambled eggs and toast (without crusts) for lunch, mashed potatoes for dinner, a strawberry shake for a snack.  Got to get those nutrients in.

Anyways, while Kimm was resting during the day, I had only ONE MAJOR goal today that HAD to get done.

Cleaning out and organizing the garage.  It had to be done because we are getting our new garage door tomorrow 🙂

Exciting, but geesh, did it have to happen this week?

It was a long, slow, HOT process, but I got it done.  I swept the entire floor, rearranged stuff into zones, and threw out a bunch of junk.  I’ve been meaning to organize the garage since we moved in…talk about super procrastination!  I’m just so glad it’s done.  I was SO proud.  I should have taken before pics (#laziness) but I do have some after pics.

It doesn’t look as neat as it does in person, believe me.  That floor was LITTERED with dirt and leaves and lots of stuff I was glad to shove in a plastic bag!

When I was done I was SOAKING wet with sweat and I fully enjoyed my shower.  After some ibuprofen and Tylenol, I was relaxing for the rest of the night.

My plan is to sleep in the bed tonight because I NEED to get a good nights sleep since I’m scheduled to go in to work tomorrow night.

I just can’t wait to see the newly installed garage door tomorrow!!!

 

Published in: on August 22, 2012 at 6:41 pm  Leave a Comment