Friday Favorites…2013: Week 4

Friday, January 25, 2013

Friday already again?  The week sure does fly by!  Thankfully tonight is my first night of two off, so of course I’m happy!

A couple of little annoyances though I need to share to get them off my mind…

First of all, I’m so irritated that my work cannot get their overtime figured out!!  This is the second week now that my paycheck has been messed up due to extra time.  I stayed late again this morning and after my replacement came I went up to my supervisor to try to get it all straightened out…of course that was a big rigamarole…her questioning me about who the supervisor was that approved the OT…geez…I’m already writing down my shift, what I requested for OT, and now I have to add it WHO approved it!  Thankfully she changed it to what I said it was with only a minimal amount of questioning…then I had to go over to payroll and make sure that it was entered in correct and that also took time and more explanations…of course all this time I’m spending I’m NOT getting paid for!  Almost 1/2 hour later I’m finally heading home, and then when I got up I had to head back to work to pick up the check they cut for me that day to make sure that the mistakes didn’t roll over to the next week.  So now I am finally all correct with my payroll.  Ugh.

Second thing…we were enjoying out dinner and watching Will and Grace when Kimm accidentally spilled some butter from her plate onto her jeans and her nice suede boots…!!!  Butter is a HORRIBLE stain to try to get out.   We washed the jeans and boots immediately but unfortunately they both still have the stain.  It pretty much made her in a not-s0-great mood for a while (she LOVED those boots!) and that of course affected me.  Stupid butter.  We’re going to try to head out to the store tomorrow to see if we can get a new pair of boots…then these can be used for outside work.  Crossing our fingers they still carry these boots!!

Other than those things, the night was nice…relaxing, reading, watching a movie.

Here’s my favorites from around the web this week…enjoy!

Favorite funnies

Believing

Book store

Favorite slurps…winter time is the perfect time for warm, filling bowls of soup…this Cheesy Taco Soup looks delish (I’d only have to remove the beef to make it vegetarian friendly)

Cheesy Taco Soup

…and this Tomato Basil Soup looks yummy (I’ve never made homemade tomato soup and want to try)

Tomato Basil Soup

Favorite inspirational posts

LIVE Your Life…life can be hectic and crazy busy, but if we don’t take time for really noticing the simple joys of life, are we really living??

The Simple Joy of One…do we really need duplicates of most everything???

Stateless Dieting…On a diet? Ruined a diet? Are your food choices based on the state of your diet?  I love the idea of taking accountability for your choices ALWAYS, making the best choices you can all the time, and realizing that your diet is stateless

7 Unfortunate Habits of Unhappy People…I REALLY need to work on self-doubt and control issues…

Favorite sweet treats…there’s a bunch this week!

Cranberry and Cream Cheese Spiral…this would be wonderful for a fancy brunch

Cranberry and Cream Cheese Spirals

Browned Butter Pecan Shortbread…I LOVE the buttery-ness of shortbread and the addition of pecans just brings it up a notch!  Would be so good with a cup of coffee!

Brown Butter Pecan Shortbread

Carrot Cake Loaf with Thick Cream Cheese Frosting…mmmmm!!!  LOVE carrot cake, LOVE cream cheese frosting…together in a simple quick bread sounds divine!

Carrot Cake Loaf

Homemade Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Pies…do you remember these from your childhood?  So good!  And a recipe with REAL ingredients would make them even better!

Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Pie

Skinny Brownie Batter Dip…brownies are pretty much my go-to dessert…a fun twist…would be so good served with fresh fruit!

Skinny Brownie Batter Dip

Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Bars…a combo of chocolate chip cookies and cheesecake???  SWOON!  And pretty much the easiest recipe ever…

Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Bars

Favorite quotes…

Life

Simplicity

Published in: on January 25, 2013 at 10:01 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/01/25/friday-favorites-2013-week-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love homemade tomato soup. Surprisingly my picky little guy will eat my tomato soup with a side of grilled cheese of course. Such a comforting meal. After looking at all of these delicious recipes I’m hungry! Good thing I’m in the midst of my Sunday baking, roasting and preparation for the week. Too bad my tray of roasted butternut squash just toppled over in the oven. I feel for Kimm even if I didn’t ruin a favorite pair of boots. That stinks. I’m glad she was able to get another pair though.

    • I’ve grown up with Campbell’s tomato soup, but surprisingly NEVER made it from scratch! I love grilled cheese and tomato soup although I don’t eat it much anymore because I feel of course that it’s too high calorie/not enough greens kind of meal…BUT every once in a while I need to have it!

  2. THank you so so much for linking to my homemade little debbie oatmeal creme pies! It means the world to me and I just love them so so much. And those chocolate chip cheesecake bars sound incredible!! I need to make those soon!

    • You are VERY welcome…those oatmeal cream pies are definitely on my “to make” list!!


Leave a comment