DETOX {Day 9}

Thursday, October 9, 2014

I forgot to mention that I got my flu shot yesterday before leaving work.  I was a little apprehensive about it because last year my arm hurt for like 3 days!  However, I have had minimal pain this time, really just a tad sore — this makes me VERY happy.

I feel like I wanted to get SO much done today and although I did get a bunch done, pretty much all of it related to food prep!  It definitely takes more time to eat in a way that you are not used to…lots more thinking involved.

Breakfast:  smoothie

After breakfast I made a half batch of creamy black bean soup and then some hummus.  The soup was really good.  The hummus I think still needs some adjustments.  It tasted great when I took it out of the Vitamix, but then after it had refrigerated it got REALLY thick which I was not a fan of; I did some research and saw that hummus has a tendency to do that so you should make your hummus thinner than you think you want it.  It’s a work in progress!  I also made a loaf of bread for Kimm for this week.

Lunch: bowl of creamy black bean soup, carrots/celery with hummus, 1/2 a peach

My afternoon was GOING to consist of calling my mom, doing some filing, and preparing a food list for this upcoming week.  Instead I napped!  It felt glorious because I was so tired, but then I felt guilty.   I really hate it when I feel guilty about giving in to what my body really needs.  I KNOW I do not get enough sleep on the days that I work, so I know I’m behind and should get some extra sleep.  So I’m going to start just doing what my body needs and NOT feel guilty.

Kimm and I went for a second walk…it was absolutely GORGEOUS out.  A perfect fall day.

After getting back home we made dinner together…Shepard’s Pie (I made mine with a gluten-free veggie burger and also my potatoes only had soy milk added with seasonings…no milk or butter).

Dinner: Shepard’s Pie (it turned out really good), green beans in olive oil with crushed almonds

Snack: it’s going to be the same old thing…popcorn!  (and probably 1/2 a peach)

Starting tomorrow night I have four nights on.  I’m not really looking forward to it but I’m just going to plow through.

Published in: on October 9, 2014 at 8:06 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2014/10/09/detox-day-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You are doing an amazing job on this detox. I wish I could say mine was going as well, but lots of running makes me hungry girl! However, I am very inspired by what you are doing and I will take some cues from your posts.I really like the daily recaps. I always wondered what you thought of those nights that you had to work with your colleague. I will see you tonight!


Leave a Reply

