FIVE Friday Faves {2}

Friday, September 12, 2014

The days of this month are just whipping by!

Another full day.  We went up to the Apple Store with Kimm’s dad to help support him while he talked to someone re: an issue he’s been having with his iPhone (his email account keeps crashing every time he sends an email), but FAIL…we didn’t realize we had to have an appointment to speak with someone (although technically that is not true…we could have waited two hours!)  So back home we went, going down all different back roads to avoid Big E traffic (#joysoflivinginNewEnglandinthefall).

I finally called and got to have a chat with my parents 🙂

An after dinner finance meeting which included a drink (yep, needed it to get through that!…we finally transferred over all our money to the new bank Ally…and just in time…received notice in the mail of even more crazy fees for the new United/Rochester bank merger).

Ended the night with a Gilmore Girls and popcorn before heading into work…only FIVE more working days until my fall vacation!

Here are five recipes that I saved this week that are on my “to make soon” list…

Favorite main dish ~~ Vegetable Lo Mein …I LOVE getting vegetable lo mein when we order out Chinese but I would love it more to make it at home.

Vegetable Lo Mein, by thewoksoflife.com

Pic and recipe: The Woks of Life

Favorite snack ~~ Almond Cashew Granola Bars…I used to love granola bars as a kid and still do, but I don’t love all the fake ingredients in the boxed bars in the store…this looks like an easy recipe with two of my favorite nuts included!

Almond Cashew Granola Bars from chef-in-training.com …These are so easy to make, have a delicious flavor, yummy crunch and are perfect for on the go snacks!

Pic and recipe: Chef in Training

Favorite cold weather slurp ~~ Tomato & Dill Soup…Campell’s Tomato Soup is my all time fave…but again, the processed stuff…this recipe looks easy and I love the fun addition of dill!

IMG_8842

Pic and recipe: Life Love Liz

Favorite slow cooker breakfast ~~ Overnight Cinnamon Apple Oatmeal…I have some steel cut oats to work with at home and this seems like a “hardly any work, ready when you wake up, perfect fall weather” breakfast…plus who can resist the smell of cinnamon 🙂

Pic and recipe: The Recipe Critic

Favorite sweet treat ~~ The Best Snickerdoodles…one of my favorite cookies of all time…enough said!

The Best Snickerdoodles - Soft, pillowy puffs that are so irresistible! The closest recipe to Mrs. Fields snickerdoodles that you'll find!

Pic and recipe: Averie Cooks

Have a GREAT weekend!

Published in: on September 12, 2014 at 7:10 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2014/09/12/five-friday-faves-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’ve missed these posts Kaye! But they make me so hungry. Everything up there looks amazing. There is just something so comforting about tomato soup. It’s very filling too which makes me feel like I’ve eaten something rich and decadent. I really should eat a bowl before every meal and I would probably never overeat.

    I’m sorry to hear you had trouble at the Apple Store. I learned the trick a long time ago to make my appointment online and to make it for first thing in the morning. The actually open before the rest of the mall.

    I laughed when you mentioned driving all the back roads to avoid the Big E traffic. I grew up in the town you live in so believe me I totally understand. It’s not nearly as bad anymore because of the shuttle buses offered at the mall and other locations. It still drives me crazy though!


Leave a Reply

