FIVE Friday Faves {1}

Friday, September 5, 2014

Friday already!  And we’re already five full days into September and I was just lamenting the fact that the month was starting it seems just a day ago.  Time goes by so fast!

I’m very grateful today that I do not have to work.  I just have so much I want to do and yet so little time to accomplish it all.  Of course today will not be the day that I get most of that stuff done, but knowing that I have all day Saturday and Sunday to get things done brings a measure of relief.

Bringing back an old favorite posting style of mine…Friday Favorites, but scaling back a bit to make it more manageable 🙂

Here are five faves from this week:

1 ~~

THIS BOOK … Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty.   LOVED it.  This author has not failed me yet…if you haven’t tried anything by her I’ve also read What Alice Forgot and The Husband’s Secret (really enjoyed both of these books as well).  I just downloaded Three Wishes for my kindle and The Hypnotist’s Love Story is on my list!

2 ~~

Baking!  The house is filled with the aroma of Blueberry Crumb Cake right now.

blueberry crumb cake

Image ~~ Smitten Kitchen

I had some blueberries that have been in the fridge now for over a month (!…but still good) and so I found this recipe online (if you don’t follow Smitten Kitchen you are missing out).  Of course I had to make a few changes to try to healthify it just a bit…1/2 whole wheat flour in the cake and the crumb topping, half the amount of sugar in the cake and crumb topping, twice the amount of vanilla extract and salt, baked for 35 minutes.  Now that fall is on its way I can’t wait to bake some more.

3 ~~

Being able to borrow books to read on my Kindle for free at the online C/W MARS library…can’t say how much I love FREE 🙂  Just downloaded The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult and The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd.  I have gotten SO MUCH USE out of this service.  Now the problem is just fitting reading time in!

4 ~~

Knitting.  I have really enjoyed getting craft again and making this little baby blanket has been very peaceful (when I’m not cursing trying to remember my knit and purl stitches or counting my stitches and finding out I have too many or too few on a row or when I’m unknotting yarn!!)

5 ~~

A new-to-me blog…A Doctor in the House — Andrea is a resident physician at the Mayo Clinic and I really enjoy reading her posts about med school (and then comparing her experiences in medicine with mine as a nurse).

 

That’s all for now…I have a bunch more to do before watching Gilmore Girls with popcorn (some things NEVER change :))

Published in: on September 5, 2014 at 8:40 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2014/09/05/five-friday-faves-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m finally reading The Husband’s Secret per your recommendation and I am loaning it from the library on my Kindle app. Love that!!! I do it all the time.

    I have some turning bananas that need to be baked into bread as soon as possible!

    The baby blanket is beautiful. I think it’s wonderful that you can make something so delicate and personal. What a sweet gift.

    Sounds like an interesting blog. Maybe now the Young House Love has ditched their blog I’ll pick up a new one. Who am I kidding, I never actually read their blog I just looked at the photos!

    Gilmore Girls is one of my all time favorite shows. Glad you’re blogging again Kaye!

  2. […] 2014 — 2 years ago…FIVE Friday Faves {1} […]


Leave a Reply

