28 Days of Thankfulness

Thursday, November 28, 2013

I have so much to be thankful for.

This month, I took a moment each day to post one “thankful post” to FB.

Here is my month…

Day 1:  Thankful today simply for my life. Working in a profession where I see death way more frequently than I would like, I am grateful for each and every one of my days, whether they be wonderful or miserable. I’m just happy I still get the chance to welcome a new day which is FULL of possibility.

Day 2:  I am so incredibly thankful for my companion in this crazy journey of life. How lucky we are to form such an intertwined relationship with a person that knows us inside-out. Kimm…you make my life as comfortable as a favorite pair of jeans. Even though we have had some downs, the ups make up for it all. All of my happiest memories share a common thread…you. There isn’t anyone else that I would want to share all my tomorrows with other than you. I love you dearly.

Day 3:  Every day I am thankful for my fur babies–Izzy, Charlie and Madeline  Without them, life just wouldn’t be the same.

Day 4: Thankful for my parents. They helped shape me into the person I am today and for that I am kind of in awe…having never been a parent myself, I can only imagine how much time they devoted to giving me a safe, secure and happy childhood. I love you Mom and Dad. Even though we are far apart in miles, we are really only a phone call away…

Day 5:  “There’s no place like home.” This December will be 5 years in our first house and I have loved every minute of transforming it into our home. Each room is filled with memories that I will forever cherish…I’m so glad to have a comfy, cozy, personable home…I smile every time we drive up and see the white picket fence and I am happy every time I step over the threshold.

Day 6:  I’m very thankful to live in a place that experiences the changing seasons. Each season has so many things to be thankful for…I love fall for the amazing colored leaves, that even when they fade and fall, are so fun to walk through as they crunch beneath your feet, and I love pumpkins, mums, sweaters, pumpkin coffee, brisk afternoon walks, and Thanksgiving. Although winter brings cold weather, it also brings the first perfect snowfall, my favorite holiday–Christmas and all that it entails…a twinkling tree, Balsam & Cedar candles flickering at night, Christmas music, making Christmas candy…snuggling up inside watching movies and sipping hot chocolate, the silence that makes you feel so small as you shovel. And spring brings with it the hope of new life…the snow melting, the green shoots pushing up through the cold earth, the bright sun, daffodils, warmer weather. And summer makes us all feel like a kid again…warm days to spend outside, trips to the beach, grilling out, the sound of the lawn mowers around the neighborhood, drives at night with the car windows down and the music blasting, and of course ice cream 🙂  “To everything there is a season…”

Day 7:  ALWAYS thankful for days off 🙂

Day 8:  Thankful for sales! (although I do think that most of the *stuff* we are buying is WAY overpriced to begin with). But, that’s why I’m thankful for saving money when I can…living isn’t cheap and every bit staying in my pocket is greatly appreciated. Not to mention I always feel like Superwoman after getting some good deals 🙂

Day 9:  Thankful for my morning coffee. On the nights I work, I look forward to having a cup when I get home to wind down after the shift, and on my days off, I enjoy how it eases me into the day, one wonderful, tasty sip at a time.

Day 10: Today I am thankful for great co-workers…I feel lucky to work with such a talented group of intelligent, hard-working, funny, and helpful nurses, CNAs CMOs, sitters, and fellow supervisors…they actually make work enjoyable!

Day 11:  “As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.” ~~ John F. Kennedy
Today I am thankful for our veterans who allow me to enjoy so many freedoms.

Day 12:  Thankful for the ability to get lost in a good book! LOVE my after dinner reading routine 🙂

Day 13:  On this cold fall morning, I am thankful for heat! I STILL remember that week of no electricity in October 2011…completely horrendous…I have NEVER felt so cold and miserable. Ever since, I NEVER take for granted the ability to turn up the thermostat in my home, or blast the heater in the car on the ride to/from work, or the simplicity in turning on my warm electric blanket! Bring on the cold…snuggling weather has commenced 🙂

Day 14:  Thankful for TV entertainment…love watching all my must-see shows…Dancing with the Stars, Survivor, The Blacklist, Sean Saves the World, Parenthood, Elementary, Grey’s Anatomy, Downton Abbey… as well as all my favorite TV series that are done but I loved and still re-watch…Queer as Folk, The L Word, Gilmore Girls, ER, Friends, LOST, Will and Grace, Dawson’s Creek, CSI, House, Reba, Little House on the Prairie. There is nothing like a weekly date with your favorite stars 🙂

Day 15: Today I am extremely thankful for the telephone…so glad I can get in touch with loved ones far away immediately.

Day 16:  Thankful to be able to sleep in 🙂

Day 17:  So thankful to have the opportunity for lazy days…love the slow pace, reading for as long as I want, napping, baking bread, spending time with my love, not feeling rushed…I live for these moments of comfortable quiet where all is right in my world…

Day 18:  Thankful today for nature, a quiet force in a world buzzing one to go faster and do more. Love the sharp sun that makes you squint and warms you to the core, the breeze that ruffles through your hair, the feel of a summer rain pelting down, the promise of a rainbow, the amazing colors of fall, the pure white of the falling snow, the harsh cold of a winter day, the lushness of freshly mowed grass, the crunch of leaves disintegrating, the chirping of the birds in the morning, the inky black of the night sky, the twinkling stars, the huge full moons, the clap of thunder, the whip of the wind in a storm, the muggy summer days that make you long for a sip of something cool, the freezing winter nights that make snuggling a wonderful necessity, the peaks of the mountains, the safeness of a valley, the sounds of waves crashing into the beach, the rushing of water in a flowing creek, the first breath of fresh air when you leave the house. I could not imagine life without all these wonders…

Day 19:  Always thankful for music. It can motivate, evoke memories (happy and sad), entertain, and make the most mundane task fly by. The talent out there is crazy good and I’m just happy to be able to enjoy life a little more when I’m singing along to my favorite songs…

Day 20:  Thankful for always having good food to eat (which this morning happens to include a glazed donut!)

Day 21:  Thankful for my daily walks with my fur-baby Izzy–she gets so excited to go (as if every walk is her very first!) and I love the quiet time to contemplate life…

Day 22:  Thankful for the ability to do good, honest, hard work (as evidenced by my EXTREME soreness today…5 hours of raking/bagging leaves will do that to a girl!)

Day 23:  Thankful for all my friends, both near and far…each of you are special in your own unique way. I’m especially thankful for being able to pick up as if no time has passed at all with friends that I have not seen in such a long time.

Day 24:  Thankful for the opportunity to rest. I know that not many people get the chance to truly relax with no distractions…for every uninterrupted moment, I feel blessed.

Day 25:  LOVE my naps! Thankful that I can fit them in often…I’m always wishing I could take back every nap that I never wanted as a kid  🙂

Day 26:  SO thankful for my second family here in MA…Kimm’s parents and brother have welcomed me into their family so nicely! I’m so glad I have the opportunity to share holidays and ordinary days with them. They make not having my own family here a bit easier to bear. Every time I get a hug from Kimm’s mom or share a laugh with her dad, I’m reminded of how lucky I am.

Day 27:  Thankful to have the eve and day of Thanksgiving off to spend with my loved ones 🙂

Day 28:  Thankful that I have so many things to be thankful for…even though I remembered something every day I know that I am blessed with so much more. I wish all my family and friends a wonderful day.

Published in: on November 28, 2013 at 12:29 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/11/28/28-days-of-thankfulness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I saw most of these on Facebook when you posted them but still very cool to read them all together. Makes me want to take a moment each day and do the same. Life moves so quickly and sometimes I take my blessings for granted. I forget to appreciate the simple things.


Leave a Reply

