Catching up…(10/28-11/22)

Friday, November 22, 2013

Yikes!  WHERE has the time gone?  No…SERIOUSLY…where??

I feel like I just wrote a “catch up” blog and here I go and look and it’s been almost a month ago??!!

Well, not a moment to waste as there is always something to do but I just want to NOT forget a few things on this tiny little blog of mine…

So here goes–

*As far as work goes, I can’t believe that I’ve been off of orientation for almost a month now.  CRAZY.  Most days I just go to work and don’t really think so much about all the stuff that “could happen.”  I just try and deal with whatever happens as it comes.  One thing I do have to say is that sometimes I feel a little lost.  Meaning, before when I worked either on med/surg, IMC, or ICU, I had a HOME base.  A place where my peeps knew me and I could settle in.  Not anymore.  I roam the entire hospital, knowing a little bit about a whole bunch of people.  I can’t determine if I like this more or less.  Also, I have to say I’m kind of missing bedside nursing a little bit.  I would like to try to have an opportunity to work bedside again if I can.  At this time I don’t know how that would work, but it’s in my mind.  I’m still getting used to going in at 11 pm.  It’s just so hard when at that time of night I’m feeling like I want to hit the sack, not drive to work.  Thankfully, once I’m at work I’m fine.

*Kimm and I have been doing VERY well on our November challenges.  We’ve been keeping up on eating our fruits and veggies, reading 20 minutes daily (if not more…I’m REALLY liking this routine), and exercising.  I’ve dropped over 10 pounds and Kimm is happy with her progress as well.  Hopefully we’ll be able to keep up with all our good work during the month of December…hello eggnog and Christmas candy!

*I have really been loving this season of Dancing with the Stars!  I can’t believe that next week is already the finale.  Whoa…it seems like I just started watching!  I really wish I had started watching this show from the beginning…I like it THAT much.

*Kimm and I went over to dinner at our neighbor’s new house (she lives with her daughter and son-in-law now).  It is a HUGE house in terms of square footage.  She seems very happy.  We had a good time hanging out, but we were still glad to be home.  We are SUCH homebodies it is ridiculous!  Well, not to mention, we were over for dinner and we both felt like we could have eaten more, but we just felt a little self-conscious doing so…anyone else ever feel that way??  So when we got home we had to have a snack!

*SO MAD.  One of our bottom fitted sheets of our sheet set tore (we’ve had them for probably about a year and rotate between two sets).  Is anything made well anymore?  We replaced them with another set…bye bye $50.

*I’ve been enjoying our date nights this month.  So far we’ve gone to Barnes and Noble and to a movie (12 Years a Slave…which I loved, but Kimm thought was a bit slow-moving at times).

*I decided to do a “thankful” posting every day during the month of November.  So far it’s been nice.   I like taking the time to really think about what I am thankful for in life.  Believe me…there is a lot.  I think that I will post them all in one post after Thanksgiving (oh boy, here I am committing myself to a blog post when I haven’t written in almost a month!)

*I took a holiday day in the beginning of November to use up some holiday time and can I just tell you how much I LOVE having three days off in a row.  I think I truly took them for granted before!  Now they are a rare commodity and to be treasured.

*Kimm and I have finally stopped feeling so guilty about buying new clothes and have both outfitted ourselves with some new clothes for the fall/winter/spring.  It was SO nice to just buy some new things.  I have to admit, I DID still feel guilty about spending so much money on me but I’m trying really hard to just remember “you are worth it!”

*I cut my hair short once I lost 10 pounds.

*Still continuing with walking Izzy every day.   She LOVES it!

*My mom was admitted to the hospital after a fall.  She broke her tibia and her knee is very unstable.  They initially thought they were going to have to do surgery, but thankfully she was released and is walking with a walker and doing leg strengthening exercises.  She will see the doctor in two weeks to see what will happen at that time.  She is very frustrated that she can’t do everything she is used to doing or wants to do, but I am just so happy that she was not injured more severely.  This is one of those times it kind of sucks to live so far away from home.

*I read a GREAT book…The Kindness of Strangers by Katrina Kittle.  Disturbing subject matter, but so well written.  After reading it in ONE day I immediately went on to the library website and requested all the rest of the books that she has written.

*Kimm had a horrible cold for about a week.  Thankfully she is feeling better now but I think that is because she truly let her body REST this time.  Lots of days on the couch 🙂  I am also so grateful that I did not catch said cold!

*We finally started doing the leaves yesterday.  We are WAY behind this year.  The last pick up is next Tuesday and so that doesn’t leave very many days to do them.  We worked for FIVE hours on them yesterday and got 31 bags full.  I would say we are about halfway done.  SO SORE today.  Thankfully a reprieve as it is raining.  But now that means we have only next Monday to get the rest of them done.  I’m so crossing my fingers it does not rain that day.

*My parents have had snow twice already.  I see that it is on our forecast for next week.  WHAT?!  I am SO not ready for snow.

*How can Thanksgiving be next week already??

*We are getting our Christmas tree NEXT Friday!  And decorating the tree and house for Christmas NEXT SATURDAY!!!!  Can you tell I’m excited!

*I baked some banana bread today since I had some bananas going bad and some sour cream about to expire.  The house smells heavenly.

Well…I can’t think of anything else to report.  I’m SURE there is more but my mind is spent.

I’m looking outside and it is no longer raining but bright and sunny!  Izzy will get her walk today 🙂

 

Published in: on November 22, 2013 at 3:45 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/11/22/catching-up-1028-1122/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I would like to know where the time is going too. This fall has flown by.

    -I have fleeting moments when I miss bedside nursing. On the flip side it has been nice to be able to visit with you more often. M5 thinks you’re doing a great job!
    -Your weight loss shows. When I was coming down the hall on Saturday night and you were standing at the nurse’s station it was very noticeable. I also love your short hair.
    -I need to start feeling the same about buying clothing. I tend to procrastinate until I really need something like this Saturday I’m going to a bridal shower and I have nothing to wear!
    -Thanks for the book suggestion. I’ll add it to my Good Reads list.
    -Oh my goodness your poor mom. I hope she feels better soon.
    -I promised Carlos we would get our Christmas tree up early this year. I do enjoy having the tree up soon after Thanksgiving.
    -I’m still in denial that Thanksgiving is already here.
    -Banana bread baking is such a comforting scent. Enjoy!!


Leave a Reply

