1st Day of Supervisor Training…done.

Tuesday, September 11, 2013

What.a.day.

SO much information!

I’m doing training from 11a to 11p for two weeks (total of six days).

The first four hours are spent meeting with “key” players at the hospital and then the last 8 hours are spent learning supervisor tasks/responsibilities with the supervisor on at that time.

Today I met with the manager of radiology, the manager of security, and the nurse managers for IMC/ICU and MS.  There was a lot of information swimming through my head at the end of that.

I also completed my recertification for my sedation and analgesia so that’s good for another two years.

The actual supervisor part was good…it was a steady but not stressful shift.  The ED was pumping for some reason, but everyone was in a fairly good mood and just moving forward.  I think the most difficult thing for me to learn will just be the different reports that I need to print out at the beginning and end of each shift and keeping track of staffing needs.  But I think that will come with time.

I stopped in after my long day (12 hours during the day time is a completely different beast than 12 hours at nighttime…there was pretty much NO downtime at all!), just to say hi and chat for a bit and it was SO WEIRD not having a patient assignment!

I was extremely glad to get home, chat with Kimm for a bit and then pretty much fall into bed.  It took me at least 15 minutes to check Facebook as I didn’t have any time to check it all day long…I was going through withdrawal 🙂

The alarm is set shockingly early…they are turning off our water from 8 am to 4 pm tomorrow as they are working on the water pipes again…SO inconvenient as I need to get a shower in.  No sleeping in tomorrow!

Published in: on September 10, 2013 at 11:59 pm  Leave a Comment