People can be inconsiderate

Monday, September 2, 2013

As more and more people found out about my new position as night supervisor, I was surprised (well not REALLY) that some were a little inconsiderate…

…”why would you want that?”

…”really?”

…”I was a little hurt that you never told us.”

These are just a few of the comments that kind of rubbed me the wrong way.

Personally, I would never say anything unkind to anyone else.  It’s just not in my nature…I guess I’m just too nice (which is I guess the reason why I am so easily hurt).

I don’t mean to complain…just wanted to vent.

I AM very nervous about this position, and OF COURSE there are things I’m sure I will need to work on (dealing with confrontation, people arguing, unhappy patients/family members, rude doctors), BUT I’m going to do the very best I can.

I just wish that people, if they can’t say anything positive or supportive, would not say anything.

Whew. Okay, now that’s off my chest I feel better.

My third night on was uneventful although there was almost a third death…I had a patient who was comfort measures only.  He made it through the night which is good for me…I don’t know if I could have dealt with so much death all at once.

So happy that I have a few days off now!

Published in: on September 2, 2013 at 8:40 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/people-can-be-inconsiderate/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. If you can’t say something nice don’t say anything at all is something we should all practice by adulthood, but sadly it’s not. I’m in the process of teaching my son the nuances of this old adage because children often don’t see the harm in many of their statements. The people that are skeptical, discouraging or downright not nice about your new job are likely jealous. Don’t let their reaction overshadow the supportive, encouraging messages you are no doubt receiving from others.

    I have since caught up on your posts and I was so pleased to hear how positive your interview experience turned out. I think you will do great in the position. You’ve definitely got the support of all of us up here in the penthouse!!

    • Aimee, I’ve said it again and again…you really have a way with words…thank you so much for your comment and support. What you say is likely true. Sounds like you are a great teacher to your son.


Leave a Reply

