People can be inconsiderate

Monday, September 2, 2013

As more and more people found out about my new position as night supervisor, I was surprised (well not REALLY) that some were a little inconsiderate…

…”why would you want that?”

…”really?”

…”I was a little hurt that you never told us.”

These are just a few of the comments that kind of rubbed me the wrong way.

Personally, I would never say anything unkind to anyone else.  It’s just not in my nature…I guess I’m just too nice (which is I guess the reason why I am so easily hurt).

I don’t mean to complain…just wanted to vent.

I AM very nervous about this position, and OF COURSE there are things I’m sure I will need to work on (dealing with confrontation, people arguing, unhappy patients/family members, rude doctors), BUT I’m going to do the very best I can.

I just wish that people, if they can’t say anything positive or supportive, would not say anything.

Whew. Okay, now that’s off my chest I feel better.

My third night on was uneventful although there was almost a third death…I had a patient who was comfort measures only.  He made it through the night which is good for me…I don’t know if I could have dealt with so much death all at once.

So happy that I have a few days off now!

Published in: on September 2, 2013 at 8:40 am  Comments (2)