Friday Favorites, 2013: Week 15

Friday, April 12, 2013

Wow, another week gone by…

It’s amazing how fast they slip by.

Favorites from the web for this week…

Favorite health postDefine Your Healthy by Brittany at A Healthy Slice of Life.  This post really hit home with me as I have changed my idea of healthy SO many times in my life.  I love her message….”I do the best I can.”  Sometimes (okay, well most of the time!) I am so black and white, so “I must do everything perfect,” so RIGID that when I can’t meet my high expectations I get so frustrated and revert to the other side (hello massive amounts of sugar…grrr..) that I forget to realize that I AM NOT PERFECT and all I can do is MY VERY BEST.  And this post reinforced to me that I have to remember that that is okay.

Favorite meal inspiration…I’m all about cheap and easy lately and this Rice and Bean Casserole with Guacamole fits the bill!  Heck anything topped with guacamole is good in my book!  I love that her guac recipe is different than my standard…can’t wait to try it!

Rice and Bean Casserole

Photo and recipe from Jenna at Eat, Live, Run

Favorite inspirational post5 Ways to Step Forward When You’re Scared to Death.   I think I am held back by fear more than I think.  This post spoke to me.   Especially the “take it slow, but go.”  Sometimes I think something is going to take so long that I don’t even want to attempt it…I have to remember, one step forward is better than no steps forward.  (**post from Marc and Angel Hack Life)

Favorite light dessert…the Kraft website calls this Angel Lush with Pineapple but I don’t like that name!  So I’m going to call it Pineapple Angel Food Cake…whatever you call it, it’s DELICIOUS!  This is the dessert we had at Kimm’s parent’s house when we celebrated the last round of birthdays and I forgot how good it was (we’ve had it before.)  It’s just TOO good and TOO simple not to share 🙂

Pineapple Cake

Favorite “push past procrastination” postI’ll Get Around to It Someday.  Long story short, while it is easy to push off difficult things, we don’t have all the time in the world…I need to make some issues a priority to deal with soon.  (**post from The Simple Dollar)

Favorite breakfast treat…I pretty much eat the same thing for breakfast every day.  I don’t change things up much.  But this No-Bake Walnut Granola Clusters looks delicious!   I love the simple list of ingredients and the fact that it is no bake…easy-peasy!

Maple Walnut Granola

Photo and recipe from Kitchen Simplicity

Favorite motivational postHow to Keep Your Eye On the Prize.  So true…easy to GET motivation but difficult to KEEP.  Caitlin from Healthy Tipping Point writes a great post on how to actually commit (in the short and long term) to a specific goal.

Favorite indulgenceBiscoff Bars…holy yumm!  Anyone else love this creamy cookie butter made with the famous airplane cookies?  These bars look good enough to take a bite right now…

Biscoff Bars

Photo and recipe from Chef in Training

Have a great weekend everyone!

Published in: on April 12, 2013 at 11:11 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/friday-favorites-2013-week-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

