On Your Game

Tuesday, April 9, 2013

I’m happy to say that I made it through this ENTIRE last week of work with no interaction at all with cranky doctor.  Is it wrong to feel so happy about that?  🙂

Anyways, last night was my second night on and it went by fairly uneventful, which is how I like it best, especially since it was just me and one other nurse in the unit and that nurse has only been off orientation for a week!

I remember when I first starting working in the ICU…I was scared every single time I came to work.  I always worried that something would happen that I would not be able to handle.  Thankfully I was surrounded by more experienced nurses whom I could bounce ideas off of and who would help me with any issues.

Now I am that nurse for someone else and it’s pretty scary.

There is still so much that I feel I don’t know.

It’s pretty stressful to be on your game…the one who gives advice rather than asking for it.

But it’s also gratifying…to be able to give back to others in the same way that you were so graciously offered help…things really do come full circle.

But I’m still glad that the night was uneventful!  Now, I have to study some more critical care stuff so I can feel more prepared for anything I encounter…

Published in: on April 9, 2013 at 8:39 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/04/09/on-your-game/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

