No Google Reader??!!….and Friday Favorites, 2013: Week 11

Friday, March 15, 2013

Have you heard the news?

No more Google Reader starting July this year.  Wow.  I was pretty surprised to hear that and also concerned as that is the reader I use for organizing and reading all my blogs 😦

So I went on the hunt for a new blog reader…at first I thought Bloglovin’ because some blog writers were using it, but I really didn’t care for the format.  Then I did some googling to find other blog readers and I’m using Feedly for now…I’m still getting used to the format, but I like it–easy to organize and customize, all my blogs instantly moved over instead of having to move them one by one, and there is a mobile app that I can use to read blogs on the go.

Another week has gone by and now we are approaching St. Patty’s Day…unfortunately I won’t be able to partake in any of the fun…work yet again.

Enjoy my favorites from around the web this week…

Favorite treatHomemade Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs…LOVE these!  And really want to make to avoid the wonky ingredients in the store-bought kind…

Reese's Peanut Butter Eggs

Picture and recipe from Izzy in the Kitchen

Favorite inspirational read10 Little Habits that Steal Your Happiness.  I really need to remember the ones that hold back MY happiness– focusing on everyone’s story except your own, waiting for that perfect moment, working for nothing more than a paycheck, harboring feelings of hate, holding tight to worries and fears, dwelling on difficulties, constantly seeking fleeting contentment,over-amplifying the importance of physical attractiveness.

Favorite way to remain gratefulThe Thankful Box. Every year before Thanksgiving Kimm and I write down one thing/day that we are thankful for…but I really think this should be more of a year long thing…I love the idea of keeping a box or book or something that you can look back on and remember how much you really have to be happy about!

Thankful Box 1

Thankful Box 2

Idea and pictures from The Handmade Home

Favorite chocolate topperHomemade Brownie Batter Hot Fudge Sauce.  This LOOKS divine!!

Brownie Batter Hot Fudge Sauce

Recipe and picture from Iowa Girl Eats

Favorite truth

Competition

This is what I am aiming for…

Have a wonderful St. Patty’s Day weekend everyone…have a drink for me 🙂

Published in: on March 15, 2013 at 2:10 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/no-google-reader-and-friday-favorites-2013-week-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

