Hello March!….and Friday Favorites, 2013: Week 9

Friday, March 1, 2013

It’s a new month!  Full of fresh beginnings 🙂

IMG_1748

LOVE my new calendar…all those cute little baby animals KILL me!

Oh I’m really feeling the effects of last night’s game night…we had wine and Pringles, but then decided to break out the Peanut Butter M&M’s and the combo really left us with a slight tummy ache before bed, and an even worse one this morning…definitely not doing that again!  Darn wine…all sensibilities go flying out the window once you have a glass or two!

Anyways, please enjoy my favorites from around the web this week…

Favorite caffeinated sip…Kimm and I love going to Barnes and Noble, especially to get a freshly made Frappuccino in the cafe…here’s a homemade recipe for our favorite…Toasted Coconut Mocha Frappuccino!  I can’t wait to make this as a treat for us at home… the ingredients sound much more REAL than the fake syrup they must use at Starbucks… (I just realized I’ve been spelling Frappacino WRONG for the longest time…F.R.A.P.P.U.C.C.I.N.O  ??  Really!)

Toasted Coconut Mocha Frappacino

Picture and recipe from Minimalist Baker

Favorite “do-it-yourself”…ever wanted to create your own website?  Well, if you have, WIX provides a free website builder with tons of features and tools and support…and you don’t even have to know HTML!   I’m keeping this in mind if I ever think of an online business!

Favorite “meal I want to try”…I’ve read all about the Mexican “bowls” from multiple blogs, but this Roasted Veggie and Black Bean Rice Bowl kicks it up a notch with the spices added to the roasted veggies…sounds so simple and delicious!

Roasted Veggie and Black Bean Bowls

Picture and recipe from Back To Her Roots

Favorite “getting back on track” post…I know ALL TOO FREQUENTLY the pull of perfectionism when it comes to dieting.  One “wrong” bite and you’re caught in the “well, I screwed up, might as well go for broke and start over tomorrow” mindset.  Roni from Just Roni wrote an EXCELLENT post regarding the “screw today, I’ll start over tomorrow” mindset.  Give it a read.  Once you realize that eating something that you determined was NOT ON PLAN is not a FAILURE, it’s much easier to recover and start fresh with your next food decision, rather than letting it tumble into a few months of not caring at all, resulting in a weight gain that is so hard to gain control of again.  I need to keep this article in an easy-to-find place so I can re-read it whenever I feel like things are going poorly.

Favorite breakfast bite…I haven’t had pancakes in SO LONG and these Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes look like they deliver a nutritious tasty bite!

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes

Picture and recipe from Peas and Crayons

Favorite inspirational posts

10 Questions You Should Know the Answers To — a few that speak to me…”what are you trying to accomplish and WHY?,” “what issues do you need to resolve with yourself?,” “how are you burdening yourself?,” “how have you celebrated your progress lately?,” “what do you love about your life?”

7 Critical Truths We Forget All Too Soon — My favorites:  Attitude makes all the difference. Everyone struggles in some way. Small steps get you to big places. You can only change yourself.

10 Life Quotes and Tips to Help You Smile — Oh there are some good ones…”If you look for perfection, you’ll never be content.” ~~Leo Tolstoy, “Believe you can and you’re halfway there.” ~~ Theodore Roosevelt, “You may delay, but time will not.” ~~ Benjamin Franklin

I SWEAR I could write a daily self-reflection journal just from these articles…all found at Marc and Angel Hack Life: Practical Tips for Productive Living

Favorite treat…I LOVE bars — so simple, all in one pan…and I LOVE blondies…something about the brown sugar I think!  This recipe for Macadamia Nut, Coconut, and White Chocolate Blondies has an awesome combination of flavors!

Macadamia, Coconut and White Chocolate Blondies

Picture and recipe from Brown Eyed Baker

Favorite newspaper read…There’s always been those articles floating around speaking of the toxicity of sugar…This article, “It’s the Sugar, Folks” from the New York Times examines a study linking increased rates of sugar consumption with increased rates of diabetes…INDEPENDENT of rates of obesity.

Favorite funny

Downton Abbey

Happy weekend everyone!!

Published in: on March 1, 2013 at 11:14 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/hello-march-and-friday-favorites-2013-week-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

