We got a little snow :)

Saturday, February 2013

Can I just say again HOW GRATEFUL I am that I did not have to work this weekend!  Usually I have the luck of being on for every major snowstorm…this is one that I was scheduled off.

Thank goodness, because we got quite a bit of snow.

Yesterday before bed when I took Izzy out for her business right before bed, there was probably about a foot of snow.  I quickly shoveled a path out to our side yard, thinking, “this will help me tomorrow morning when I take Izzy out.”

HA!

When I woke up and opened the door, this is what I saw (and keep in mind, this is me already shoveling off the front porch).

IMG_1688

At least two feet!   More like three feet in some spots with all the drifting!

Ugh.  But again, SO THANKFUL that I did not have to drive home this morning from work.

After breakfast, we headed outside.

I cleared the walkways, the edge of the driveway by the curb, and the front of the house by the mailbox…Kimm got to use the snowblower for the VERY FIRST TIME (!!!)  — she did the driveway.  It was so windy out, she was COVERED in snow!

IMG_1689

This was the path I made for Izzy to go do her “business” this morning 🙂

IMG_1690

A view to the right of our side door…it’s a LONG way to the fence!

IMG_1691

I’m actually surprised we could still see the picnic table!

IMG_1692

I just kept shoveling!  Little by little…

IMG_1693

In front of the door to the garage…this door is about a foot off the ground, so snow about two feet high.

IMG_1694

Got the gate to the driveway open!

IMG_1695

That’s a LOT of snow on the side lawn!

IMG_1696

The garage door opened on it’s own…about a foot and a half in the driveway…

IMG_1697

Kimm getting the snow blower ready…it took about eight times to get it going!

IMG_1698

I started on the driveway shoveling next to the curb so we would know how far to go with the snow blower!

IMG_1699

There she goes!!!

IMG_1700

It’s up past Kimm’s knees!

IMG_1701

It’s a long driveway!

IMG_1703

Making progress…

IMG_1704

Oh, oh…this isn’t looking good!

IMG_1705

Yep, at LEAST three feet leading from our front gate to the street…a wall of snow.

IMG_1706

Not too bad, Kaye, not too bad!

IMG_1707

Quite a snow bank.

IMG_1708

Yes, I ALWAYS shovel in front of the mailbox…I think of our postal workers 🙂

IMG_1709

All done with the driveway….GREAT JOB Kimm!!

IMG_1710

While we were out there the plow came by!  So we are free whenever we need to get out 🙂

And want to know the best thing?

NOT having to scrape off the car!  SO NICE to be able to park in the garage!!

IMG_1702

We got done in about an hour and a half…not bad at all.  I have to say, I’ve had MUCH worse times shoveling in the past…I really don’t mind shoveling, as long as I have the rest of the day to relax 🙂

Right now I’m sitting in the living room, snuggled in my blanket, listening to the wind howl and I’m smiling.

I can’t wait to enjoy the rest of the night in.

Published in: on February 9, 2013 at 5:35 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/02/09/we-got-a-little-snow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

