Hospital Drama

Monday, January 28, 2013

Another day done for work!

Oh, what a night…SO MUCH DRAMA.  It’s insane.

To make a long story as short as I can, when my co-worker and I came in at 7 pm we both got one ICU patient each, the other nurse on had 4 IMC patients.  Yes, unbalanced, but this is how they do it…we all just help each other.  It was a VERY busy first four hours as  my patient was an admission, unstable with BP issues and needed 2 units fresh frozen plasma and one unit platelets.  He also needed to be turned and cleaned frequently…we had no secretary (so one of us three had to sit at the desk and watch the monitors at all times) AND no aide, so we were all running around a little crazy.

When the next nurse came on at 11 pm, I pretty much almost didn’t even know it as I was still so busy trying to catch up on my own documentation.  Well, my co-worker who was caught up, asked this nurse, “what can I do to help?” and this other nurse responds, VERY MEANLY, “nothing, I’ll deal with my four patients and you each can deal with your one patient each but don’t expect me to help you.”  !!!!  WHAT??!!  After some conversation that was very tense, we gathered that this nurse felt it was very unfair that he had four patients and we each had one, but he had no idea of the situation from 7p-11p OR the complexity of each of our patients.   I felt like he was being unfair.  Needless to say, it was very uncomfortable working.  I just concentrated on my patient and that was all.   But then the supervisor wanted that other nurse to go to the ER for 3p-7a and of course he was all behind with documenting so I said I would go.  I was actually glad to go, to escape the ice-cold atmosphere.   And to top it all off, this was this nurse’s LAST night in our unit, as he is going to go work in the ER again.  Just a bad way to end things.

I guess I have to try not to take this so personally, but I just think back to all the times I had four IMC patients with no aide and other nurses had one ICU patient.  I just plodded along, sometimes thinking it was unfair, but accepting help and even asking for help.

SO FRUSTRATING.

Anyways, what’s done is done, but I just wish things had ended on a better note between all of us.

Anyways, I’m heading to bed.  We’re supposed to get a couple of inches of snow and perhaps some freezing rain today.  Ugh…hopefully not as I have to go back to work tonight.   We shall see…

Published in: on January 28, 2013 at 9:33 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/hospital-drama/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

