Mean Doctors

Thursday, January 10, 2013

It’s 10:15 am and I’ll soon be going to bed so I can get up in a little over 5 hours and do it all over again.

I stayed late at work today, but this time because they asked me…short on staffing (as usual).  I’m surprised I actually said “yes” but I’m trying to earn some extra money and staying late is a lot easier than coming in a separate shift.

My replacement was due to come in at 8:30 am.  So by the time I actually gave report and finished documenting, it was 9:15 am when I left.

Needless to say, I’m tired right now.

All I’m going to say about last night is…I HATE doctors who are mean.  SERIOUSLY!!!!

When I call to ask a question, it’s not because I WANT TO WAKE YOU UP and have you yell at me.

I don’t think that’s what I said in my head before putting a call out to you.  SO SORRY.

Long story short…when I was calling to ask a legitimate question, I also reported some “off” labs…well, the doctor was PISSED that the labs were drawn so early…ordered for 6 am, drawn at 5 am because there was another lab that needed to be drawn based on a heparin drip protocol…I never even knew that the labs were drawn early because the lab makes the decision at times to group draws SO THE PATIENT DOES NOT HAVE TO SUFFER MULTIPLE NEEDLE STICKS!!!!  But does the doctor understand this…NOOOOO!!!!  He just finds it way easier to yell at me on the phone.

STUPID JERK.

Anyways, this was already after the point when I said I would stay later to help out and I was NOT looking forward to seeing this doctor when he came in.

But guess what??

I don’t even think that he remembered yelling at me.

We had a few civil exchanges and that was that.

Why did I let this EAT AT ME FROM 6 am on?????

Seriously, nursing will eventually help me develop a thicker skin…I hope!!!

Off to bed for me…

Published in: on January 10, 2013 at 10:15 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/mean-doctors/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

