Start again…

Saturday, January 5, 2013

So last night at work was HORRIBLE.  Five patients — two admissions, two complete bed changes pretty much every two hours, poop everywhere, IVs being pulled, one extremely needy patient, and two confused patient.  I was trying to catch up all night long.  It never happened.  I finally left at 8 am and I DID put in for the extra time.  Who knows, maybe they’ll speak to me and say, “you’re not managing your time properly…” but at this point I DON’T CARE.  Let one of them come in and do my job for 12 (more like close to 14 hours straight with only breaks enough to drink 5 cups of water and go to the bathroom just as many times).

So needless to say, my resolution to APPRECIATE more just fell by the wayside.

I was angry.  I was impatient.  I felt sorry for myself.  I disliked a lot of my co-workers (especially since it seemed like there were SO MANY that were not as busy).

I came home and had to vent to Kimm for close to 45 minutes.

BUT…

today is a NEW DAY and I’m determined to start again.

My emotions WILL NOT get the best of  me.  I’m better than that.

I just have to keep repeating…”this too shall pass,”  “you are one FINE nurse,” and “it’s only 12 hours…you can do ANYTHING for 12 hours!!”

So wish me luck.

I’m starting again with a positive attitude and I’m going to do my best to APPRECIATE.

 

Published in: on January 5, 2013 at 6:56 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2013/01/05/start-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

