My BEST new Christmas treats recipes: Saltine Toffee Bark and Penuche Fudge

Friday, December 28, 2012

I got some good stuff for you!  Yummy stuff…

I had heard about this recipe through a blog but was a little leery…saltines in a candy???  I’m glad I took a chance because this was one of our favorites this year…Saltine Toffee Bark.  The brown sugar and butter melt together to form a toffee that gets absorbed into the saltines and the saltines give a faint saltiness that pairs SO well with the buttery toffee and the sweet chocolate!

Saltine Toffee Bark

For anyone who has been reading my blog for a while, they know that I LOVE my mom’s Patience recipe.   Problem is, it’s tough to make…particular…it’s very easy to mess up.  I made it successfully in 2010, and then FAILED miserably in 2011.  Which makes me SO not happy, especially considering that recipe takes well over an hour to make, most of it involving constant stirring.  That’s why I am SO PSYCHED to have found this Penuche Fudge recipe from Martha Stewart…it has the EXACT SAME consistency as my mom’s Patience…crumbly and sugary, rather than smooth and creamy.  It was EASILY my favorite Christmas candy of the season 🙂

Penuche fudge

** I doubled the recipe for all ingredients except the evaporated milk–I used the 12 oz that is generally available in the baking aisle–I also made mine nut-free!

BOTH of these sweet treats are being added to our MUST BE MADE list!!

Published in: on December 28, 2012 at 10:04 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/12/28/my-best-new-christmas-treats-recipes-saltine-toffee-bark-and-penuche-fudge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for finally talking about >My BEST new Christmas
    treats recipes: Saltine Toffee Bark and Penuche Fudge | Okay, Kaye?

    <Loved it!


Leave a Reply

