Can’t do this the rest of my life…

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Nursing is a difficult job…physically, mentally, emotionally.

Last night was a tough one.  NON-STOP for almost 14 hours.  Yep, I was there until 8:30 am.

I hate when I stay late like that because I always feel like I’m not that great of a nurse…that I didn’t manage my time well…that I just don’t cut it.

But then I think back to the night and remember…I DID MY BEST.

However, I just feel that my hospital can be so NON-SUPPORTIVE to the nursing staff.  I had to listen to a nurse vent when I got report, and she had been crying multiple times during the day….because the supervisory staff was making her feel bad for how she was taking care of a patient…this is a GREAT nurse…one that they will lose…she is putting in her resignation.

I have NEVER seen a hospital lose so many great, caring, HARD-WORKING nurses.  It’s SO frustrating.

I know that there were SEVERAL times during yesterday’s shift that I felt overwhelmed to the point of wanting to either cry or bash my head against the wall.  I KNOW I was rude and impatient with my co-workers (I HATE when I do this but I can’t seem to help it).  When I get so behind and feel like I will never get caught up I always ask myself…”what did I do to deserve this??”

I know part of my anxiety is just my high standards…I want to document properly on my patients.  I want to give them the care they deserve…the care I would want my own loved ones to get.  Most of the time, when that happens, it means I barely have time to go to the bathroom, let alone quickly scarf down some peanuts or drink some water.

All I know is that I can’t feel that stressed out the rest of my life…something has to change.   And since things don’t change on their own…we shall see how I work to overcome this obstacle.

SO GLAD to have a night off to sit in front of the tree, watch a Christmas movie, and just RELAX 🙂

Published in: on December 19, 2012 at 9:08 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/cant-do-this-the-rest-of-my-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh Kaye I know exactly what you’re feeling. You are a terrific nurse and staying late has nothing to do with your skills. It has everything to do with everything you mentioned namely the lack of support. The turnover on the medical/critical care units is unbelievable yet no one ever seems to ask what is going on. You are always welcome on the 5th floor if you need a safe place to vent. We are great listeners up there.

  2. Since 2007 my husband has had an artificial heart valve surgery, two knee replacement surguries, colon cancer, a hernia that had to be repaird from the colon cancer surgery, then he contracted c-diff! So we have had our fair share of hospital stays – and I have to say, the nursing staff we had were wonderful people – super caring, got my husband’s sense of humor. I will forever be imdebted to them because they took care of my husband when I couldn’t.

    Hang in there! (p.s. I found you through Aimee’s blog!) 😀

    • Thank you for the words of encouragement…believe me…things always look better after a day off to regroup. There are SO many parts of nursing I love, and I think when it’s CRAZY I tend to forget those parts. Aimee and I work at the same hospital! She’s such an inspiration to me. Thanks for stopping by! Kaye


Leave a Reply

