Work vs. Life

Saturday, October 27, 2012

Another night of work done.  Busy for the first four hours…in the ER.  Tons of patients.  One thing that I’m kind of getting annoyed with when I go to the ER is when I take on a section from an ER nurse who is now going to be the “float nurse.”  WHAT?  So basically I get stuck doing a lot of work, some of which I’m unfamiliar with and have to look stupid and ask questions all the time, and the other nurse just picks and chooses who to help.  I don’t think that is fair at all.  I don’t think it would have bothered me so much except that I was stuck doing a few things that I really didn’t know WHAT I was doing and because it was so busy, I felt like the charge nurse was getting annoyed with having to continuously answer my questions.  Okay, done with rant.  Thankfully it was only for four hours.

Back in the ICU for my final 8 hours.  Sad news tonight…one of my co-workers came in to work for 11 and then within a few minutes got a call from a family member…her sister had been found dead.  I don’t know all the details, and I wouldn’t share them here…but it just got me thinking again how…WE DON’T know how much time we have in this world…don’t ever take life for granted.  Life is often filled with not so fun stuff…for example, work, cleaning, home maintenance…it’s not all relaxing…BUT we are alive…and that is a gift.  When I get frustrated with different things, I need to really remember this…I want to see the joy in EVERY SINGLE DAY…because I don’t know how many days I have.  I want to be able to say my life was enjoyed…in the good and the bad!

Whew…heavy thoughts for so early in the morning…off to bed I go.

Published in: on October 27, 2012 at 8:14 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/10/27/work-vs-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

