Savory Pumpkin Seeds

Sunday, October 21st, 2012

I can’t believe that it’s already been two weeks since my parents have left (and of course I STILL have not blogged about it!…this is what happens when you get behind in your blogging)

It’s back to work for me today but I wanted to share the super flavorful recipe I used for roasting our pumpkin seeds this year…they turned out SO GOOD.   I loosely based this off a few different recipes I found online so I do consider this to be my own recipe!

Savory Pumpkin Seeds

Approximately 2 cups pumpkin seeds (don’t need to be dry, just rinsed clean of most pumpkin guts)

3 Tbsps butter

1 Tbsp brown sugar

1 Tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp salt

1 tsp garlic salt

Melt butter and brown sugar together in small saucepan over low-medium heat.  Add in soy sauce, salt and garlic salt.  Stir to combine.  Dump over pumpkin seeds and mix thoroughly.  Pour seeds on to 9 x 13 cookie sheet that is covered in tin foil that has been sprayed with non-cooking spray.  Spread out pumpkin seeds (at this point it will look very loose and runny).  Roast seeds in 250 degree oven, stirring every 15 minutes until done–savory mixture will stick to seeds (for me this took about one and 1/2 hours).  Cool, store in airtight container, and enjoy!!

I am VERY sad that we only had two cups of these seeds because they are so tasty.  Kimm loved them.  She wants to go buy  more pumpkins just so we have more seeds 🙂

I will definitely make these again next year….and I think we’ll have more seeds next year as Kimm’s mom wants us to carve some pumpkins for her!  If that’s the case then I’m going to try the sweet route as well…I saw some recipes that looked good for seeds with sugar and cinnamon!

Published in: on October 21, 2012 at 10:17 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/10/21/savory-pumpkin-seeds/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

