Good Deals!

Thursday, August 9, 2012

This month is flying by already.  Crazy.  I can’t even remember when I was on vacation…it feels like a distant dream.

Anyways, I got up this morning, all ready to fully enjoy my one morning where I could have my English muffin and cup of coffee (have not had any days where I was working…just right to bed), and of course I get a call from my nursing supervisor, wondering if I can come in to speak to her about that med error in the ED.  Of course I’m like, umm…can I meet you after work tomorrow since I’m coming in to work tonight at 7pm?  Sure she says.  Of course, as soon as I get off the phone I’m in tears.  I’m so upset.  I decide to write up something regarding the incident since I KNOW I’ll cry when I meet with her.  I write it up, have Kimm read it, and then I decide to call my supervisor back to see if I can meet with her today, knowing that I will otherwise be thinking of this all day.  She says sure, so off I go.

As expected, I DO cry.  But I am able to give her my paper explaining the situation and even though it is my fault and I take full responsibility, she realizes that there are several contributing factors and is glad that I’ve brought it to her attention.  Of course she still needs to follow-up with the head supervisor of the ED and the overall nursing supervisor, but at this time she feels like it is a process error and I should stop be so hard on myself.  Sure…easy for her to say!

Anyways…after that I’m already out so I do the grocery shopping that I had planned to do today.

Some GREAT DEALS at the discounted fruit and vegetable stand at Stop and Shop (if you shop there, make sure to always check it out…usually it’s in an “out-of-the-way” area because they don’t want you to save too much money!).  I was able to get 2 large containers of blueberries for 99 cents each (normally these have been running 2.99 or more).  I also picked up 3 packages of strawberries for 99 cents each (these have been running close to 2.99 or higher).  So I felt very happy about that.  Love me some berries.  Just don’t love the normally high price (even at Price Rite, they run high).

Home for lunch, then balancing the checkbook and paying bills.

Now finally relaxing for oh about 15 minutes before I have to start getting ready for work (shower, make meal, eat meal, dishes).

It’s been a whirl-wind of a day.

On tonight and then I have to consider if I want to sign up for the overtime that was available for Friday night.  I’ll see how I feel after this shift.

Hope everyone is having a great week.

Published in: on August 9, 2012 at 3:34 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/08/09/good-deals/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m glad you got the meeting out of the way instead of waiting it out until morning. I would have died waiting too. I agree with the supervisor that you have to stop being hard on yourself. I know easier said than done, but the patient was ok and you will undoubtedly be more attentive to details even in busy situations.

    The potential med error I was part of resulted in risk management involvement. Everyone involved had to meet twice to go over the incident, discuss factors that contributed to the potential error and formulate ways to prevent anything similar from happening in the future. The process was professional and fair. No one was blamed. It was a team effort as it usually is unless the error is done on purpose. I actually learned a lot.

    Kaye you are a very good nurse. I hope you are able to breath a little easier now that you have spoken to the supervisor. I wish you a peaceful night at work.

    • Aimee… The meeting actually went okay, even though DARN IT I cried again. Even though I so didn’t want that to be the image I left my supervisor with. Overly emotional I guess. I KNOW in my heart that I didn’t do anything intentional AND that there were a lot of contributing factors, so hopefully it will resolve quickly and maybe even make some improvements for increased med safety in the ED. But I wanted to thank you for writing and offering some support…it really made me feel better. Even though we KNOW that we are not the only people these things happen to when they happen, it’s still so easy to believe it when you have no one else who says, “oh, that happened to me too.” I’ve actually had pretty good nights at work lately, and have EVEN been back in the ED 🙂 Hope you are doing well.


Leave a Reply

