In the kitchen…

Thursday, July 26, 2012

I feel like I spent a lot of time in the kitchen today!  Which is good…I like to be in the kitchen 🙂

Two dishes were created…one savory and one sweet.

The savory was pesto…with home-grown basil!  The basil has really taken off this summer…I think it loves the hot, humid weather we have been getting.   Unfortunately since I’m trying to save money, I had no pine nuts or walnuts to put in the pesto, so I improvised and used pistachios…and it turned out good.  Here’s the recipe I use.  Mixed into fettuccine noodles…yumm.

The sweet was lemon cheesecake bars…a pre-dessert for our anniversary tomorrow!  It allowed me to use up some graham cracker crumbs Kimm’s mom had given us a long time ago…I used this Martha Stewart recipe…I just changed up the crust a bit because I used the recipe on my graham cracker crumb box…but the filling was exactly the same.  We had a square tonight after dinner and Kimm was  a BIG fan…I don’t think I’ve heard “mmmm….mmmmm…MMMMM!!” so much out of her mouth in a long time.  In her words, “it’s a keeper!”  I’m thinking the fresh lemon zest and juice really amped up the flavor.

Those two creations and our daily eating created TWO big loads of dishes to wash…more time in the kitchen!

All of my day was not in the kitchen though…I actually got a bit done…balancing the checkbook, paying bills, ordering our NEW GARAGE DOOR (bye, bye last of the tax refund!), making vet appointments for the cats, cutting my hair, talking to my parents, watching some Brady Bunch, cross-stitching, watering the porch plants.

All in all I would say it was a productive AND fun day.

Now I’m sure we are going to watch something (either TV or a movie) after computer time.

Can’t wait for tomorrow…anniversary day 🙂

Published in: on July 26, 2012 at 8:51 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/07/26/in-the-kitchen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

